DARK TRANQUILLITY To Release 'Where Death Is Most Alive' In October

July 23, 2009

Century Media Records has set an October 26 European release date for "Where Death Is Most Alive", the new concert DVD/CD from Swedish melodic death metallers DARK TRANQUILLITY. The set will be issued as a limited-edition 2DVD+2CD set, as well as a double DVD and double CD.

"Where Death Is Most Alive" will contain footage of DARK TRANQUILLITY's October 31, 2008 headlining concert in Milan, Italy. The band was joined during the show by THEATRE OF TRAGEDY singer Nell Sigland for renditions of the songs "The Mundane And The Magic" (a track that had never before been played live) and "Insanity's Crescendo".

Fan-filmed video footage of the Milan concert can be viewed below.

DARK TRANQUILLITY will enter the studio in September to begin recording its ninth album for and early 2010 release via Century Media Records. The band states, "We'll keep the recording setup completely in-house this time. Drums will be tracked in Daniel Antonsson's [bass] studio, while the remaining instruments will be immortalized in Martin Brändström's [electronics] newly renovated Rogue music facilities. The mixing duties will once again be handled by Tue Madsen in his Antfarm studio in Denmark.

"As for the music itself, it's a bit too early to delve into details, but the material feels diverse and fresh and covers all the facets of the DARK TRANQUILLITY sound. Those who are familiar with our songwriting process know that we always keep re-arranging and experimenting with the material until the recording starts, and while we currently have the basic foundations for around 10 songs, many things are still open. The final result is likely to surprise ourselves as well as you people.

"Some tentative song titles are 'I Am The Void', 'Zero Distance', 'The Burden Of Love Alive', 'Archangelsk' and 'Memories In Reverse', though these are subject to change as usual."

DARK TRANQUILLITY's "Projector", "Haven" and "Damage Done" albums were re-released in a luxurious slipcase packaging with bonus material as well as the rarities compilation "Yesterworlds" on May 25, 2009 in Europe via Century Media Records. All releases are available at a fan-friendly price and also feature extensive liner notes as well as new layouts and designs by guitarist Niklas Sundin. As a very exclusive bonus, the three album reissues also contain one song each from "Where Death Is Most Alive".

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email