DARKTHRONE Releases New Song 'Black Dawn Affiliation' From Upcoming 'It Beckons Us All' Album

April 11, 2024

Norwegian black metal veterans DARKTHRONE have released an animated video (created by Matthew Vickerstaff) for their new song "Black Dawn Affiliation". The track is taken from the band's upcoming album, "It Beckons Us All", which will arrive on April 26 via Peaceville Records.

DARKTHRONE's Fenriz comments: "Nocturno Culto sculpted 'Black Dawn Affiliation', and as much as I writhe in woe trying to describe riffs I did not make, we are certainly rocking hard and dark around a dungeon of slow KREATOR 1986-era riffs (think 'Awakening Of The Gods' or 'Take Their Lives' from the 'Flag Of Hate' 12").

"The song is linearly constructed, which is bold for a single but we often write this way. One could say it is a two-pronged beast which after the intermission (filled with a choir of the damned that we sung ourselves, believe it or not: 'Aaaaaa.') continues with my favorite riff in the song since I first heard it appear early in the second part and it is there that I was given the reins to let the halls and chambers of stardust levitate with unearthly synth and a voice that still today, when writing this, strikes me as being influenced by the first rock album I heard back in 1973 — 'Morrison Hotel'. Lyrics darker and more disturbed than ever solidify these halls now."

DARKTHRONE's Nocturno Culto adds: "It is not easy to describe the music you make, but for sure I will try…it's heavy! Everything worked out as I hoped for this track. Some things are just forged in the studio, like as Fenriz's excellent vocals at the end of the song; and the choir I wanted. Instead of just taking shortcuts, Fenriz and I recorded three vocal tracks each, and it was brilliantly mixed by Silje at Chaka Khan. There are many things one can say about riffs, but I make songs from a combination of a very methodical approach and happy accidents! And somewhere in the back of my head, it's most likely there is something affecting a lot of my decisions on little details that shapes the riffing."

Pioneers of a sound that changed the world. Lifelong disciples of suspense and mystery. An enigmatic duo like no other, hell-bent on haunting souls through the eternities. There are many things DARKTHRONE have been called since forming in 1986 and these are but a few, having drawn from a creative well so potent and powerful it turned them into one of Norway's biggest musical exports. Following from their debut album "Soulside Journey", the next three full-lengths, often referred to as "the unholy three", set the benchmark for black metal in the early '90s, though in truth they've never been the kind to rest on such laurels — distilling elements of vintage punk, doom, thrash and death into their own sonic fingerprint and continuing to test that equation throughout the years. It's been quite the journey, having won cryptic pair Nocturno and Fenriz legions of loyal fans around the world. This tradition will only continue with latest masterpiece "It Beckons Us All".

The new music is an intense observation of the world around them — exciting and challenging the listener in equal measure, in the way only they can. Some of the riffs howl across a gallery of ice and snow while others crackle like a volcano awakening from its timeless slumber, Nocturno's demonic barks ricocheting across the intoxicating structures almost like it's beaming from long-distant galaxy. As DARKTHRONE have shown us so many times in the past, their music is as visual as it gets — evoking tangible imagery through the medium of sound. Whether the ideas are somber, reflective or incensed, they exist as emotional concepts you can see and feel as much as you hear.

"I am having difficulties putting into words my personal feelings around the existential title 'It Beckons Us All'. I can only hope others out there can feel the darkness that encompasses it," muses Fenriz.

Never afraid to venture beyond the confines of the extreme metal template they were paramount in creating, there are moments on "It Beckons Us All" that will dazzle and surprise, as well as satisfy fans of old. Nocturno comments: "We recorded in the manner we always do, live, meaning drums and guitar, with another guitar added later. We found a new twist during this process that surely benefited this album. Fenriz did stellar clean vocals on several songs, and his way of thinking creatively made it so good. We also shared the bass work this time around. We added a lot of extra layers like solo guitars… it was just a cauldron of ideas. Instead of finding a plug-in or choir synth patch, we both recorded four vocal tracks each. DARKTHRONE is an ever-evolving band, as many should know by now, and this album is touching a bit into the heavy genre. I have no idea what genre we are, and have really not cared much about it, but I know for sure it's metal."

In that sense, "It Beckons Us All" is very much demonstrative of two visionaries at their world-commanding best. They know what works but more importantly they choose to grow, throwing every ounce of their hearts and souls into evolving the jaw-dropping whirlpool of noise that could only ever have come from their collective minds. There are clean guitars, clean vocals and less typical instruments thrown into the mix, but the approach, intent and ethos at the heart of their fearless artistry remains very much the same. This is music for dreamers who find themselves paralyzed by the contrasting beauty and ugliness in the world surrounding them. Never ones to appease the faint-hearted, DARKTHRONE are as real and human as it gets.

"It Beckons Us All" was recorded in April and May 2023 at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, the same location used for the "Eternal Hails" and "Astral Fortress" albums, mastered by Jack Control at Enormous Door, with artwork courtesy of Polish artist Zbigniew Bielak.

"It Beckons Us All" track listing

01. Howling Primitive Colonies [06:30]
02. Eon 3 [05:43]
03. Black Dawn Affiliation [06:11]
04. And In That Moment I Knew The Answer [03:17]
05. The Bird People Of Nordland [07:27]
06. The Heavy Hand [04:18]
07. The Lone Pines Of The Lost Planet [10:03]

Nocturno Culto photo courtesy of Peer Olav Kittilsen

Find more on Darkthrone
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).