DARZAMAT: New Album To Be Mixed By SCAR SYMMETRY Guitarist

Polish extreme metallers DARZAMAT have tapped Jonas Kljellgren (SCAR SYMMETRY guitarist) of Black Lounge Studios in Avesta, Sweden to mix their new album, "Solfernus' Path", for an early 2009 release.

Commented DARZAMAT vocalist Flauros: "Our friend Marek Dobrowolski, the drummer of the band ONE MAN ARMY AND UNDEAD OUARTET, who perfectly knows Jonas' abilities, was the one who recommended us the cooperation with him. Already the first talks with the SCAR SYMMETRY's guitar player incline us in positive terms. Besides, Jonas has already initially mixed one of the numbers that will appear on the record and the effect made us fall to our knees. It only convinced us that there's noone else but SCAR SYMMETRY's guitar player who can take care of it. We're very much excited with this cooperation and we're looking forward to starting the work with Jonas."

The new album will be recorded in Poland under the supervision of Jaroslaw Toifl, with whom the band had previously worked on 2005's "Transkarpatia" (Metal Mind Productions in Europe, MVD in the USA). The drums and guitars will be laid down at HH Poland studio in Gliwice, while the vocals will be tracked at Maq studio. The keyboard parts will be recorded at Spectre's (DARZAMAT keyboard player) home studio.

Added Flauros: "We do not look at saving but at the quality. For each instrument we have chosen the most optimal place for putting traces and we've spent a lot of time analysing each and every element of this jigsaw. We've been listening to various band's productions recorded in different studios and we've got no doubt that we've made a good choice. The only thing that counts is the final effect, which should please the biggest malcontents."

"Solfernus' Path" will include the following songs:

01. False Sleepwalker
02. Vote for Heresy
03. Final Conjuration
04. Pain Collector
05. Gloria Inferni
06. Solfernus' Path
07. Lunar Silhouette
08. King of Burning Anthems
09. Chimera
10. A Mesmeric Séance

Flauros previously stated about the upcoming CD: "For the first time in our band's history, we've decided to create a concept album. It is a certain sort of novelty for us, yet we've had such an idea in our minds for a long time now. The coherent story, which is to be told by both the lyrics and the music, is a hell of a greater challenge than composing ten pieces in the similar stylistics. As the action proceeds, the music must 'react' accordingly and suitably. It is as if a screenplay, which is to attract the viewer in an interesting way."

He continued, "The story contained on the record takes place in a mysthical set, indeed, which is created by the mansion of countess Josephine von Kuchmeister, the inspiration for which was the Villa Caro in Gliwice and the palace in Plawniowice. The action of 'Solfernus' Path' takes place at the beginning of XXth century. The main character is a medicine student who undergoes a spiritual transformation. He goes beyond the carnal world and he notices the 'other side.' Everything is dressed in fairy-like climate, full of the occult 'keys.' Nothing is obvious, nothing here is predictable.

"The title Solfernus is of course not the main character of the story, but it's eminence grise. The character of Solfernus derives from the play 'Dalliance with Devil' written by the Czech dramatist Jan Drda. It is only a tiny inspiration, an impuls where one should not seek any similarities. Drda's play is grotesque and humorous, while our story is of a completely different character, much closer to Stefan Grabinski's horror short stories than to the ones of the Czech playwright."

DARZAMAT released its first-ever live DVD, entitled "Live Profanity (Visiting the Graves of Heretics)", in North America in August 2007 via Metal Mind Productions (the DVD was released in Europe a month earleir). The disc was recorded at the 21st edition of the Metalmania Festival, which took place on March 24, 2007 in Katowice, Poland, and contains material comprised mostly of songs from the band's latest album, "Transkarpatia". Also included is the group's surprise performance of the song "Diabelski Dom" by the cult Polish metal band KAT, featuring a guest appearance by KAT leader Roman Kostrzewski. The DVD also includes additional footage from the Winternachtstraum Festival, which took place in February 2007 in Arnsberg, Germany, two unreleased tracks, video clips, and an interview with Flauros and Nera.

"Labyrinth of Anxiety" (taken from "Live Profanity (Visiting the Graves of Heretics)" DVD):


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).