DAYLIGHT DIES: New Album Due In October

July 24, 2012

Candlelight Records has set an October 9 North American release date for DAYLIGHT DIES' new album, "A Frail Becoming". Mixed by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios (OPETH, KATATONIA, DEVIN TOWNSEND),the CD features photography from Jonathan Mehring and packaging design by Agni Kaster.

The release of "A Frail Becoming" silences a nearly four-year writing gap from the quintet.

"'A Frail Becoming' is an album which, at many times during its creation, felt as if it may never be realized," states drummer Jesse Haff. "As each of our lives proceeded down different paths, the challenges and obstacles we faced felt daunting and at times impassible. Out of this struggle, we forged ahead, determined to write the best collection of music we've ever created. Thankfully our perseverance prevailed and 'A Frail Becoming' stands as the most accomplished and varied album of our career."

Recording of "A Frail Becoming" commenced late 2011. Bassist/vocalist Egan O'Rourke coordinated capturing individual performances of Haff, guitarists Barre Gambling and Charley Shackelford, and vocalist Nathan Ellis. By year's end, the raw tracks were ready for Bogren's impressive and critical touches. Haff notes, "While still sounding distinctly DAYLIGHT DIES, each songs stands independently on its own, uncompromisingly representing a reflection of the moment in time they were each born in. Expect beautiful and haunting guitar-driven dark metal, enveloped by a wall of rhythms and textures one minute, and deeply expressive guitar leads, solos and acoustic passages the next."

"A Frail Becoming" track listing:

01. Infidel
02. The Pale Approach
03. Sunset
04. Dreaming of Breathing
05. A Final Vestige
06. Ghosting
07. Hold On To Nothing
08. Water's Edge
09. An Heir to Emptiness

DAYLIGHT DIES is currently working on a video for the song "Dreaming Of Breathing". The clip is being filmed by Ramon Boutviseth, who also directed "Lies That Bind", a video filmed shortly after the release of 2006's "Dismantling Devotion".

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email