DEF LEPPARD, ANTHRAX Guitarists Jam With CAMP FREDDY In Hollywood

August 6, 2007

CAMP FREDDY — the Los Angeles-based "jam" group featuring guitarists Dave Navarro (ex-JANE'S ADDICTION, RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS) and Billy Morrison (ex-THE CULT bassist, current CIRCUS DIABLO vocalist) alongside VELVET REVOLVER members Matt Sorum (drums) and Scott Weiland (vocals) — played for over an hour at the X-Games/ESPN party at the House Of Blues in Hollywood, CA on Friday, August 3. This was the third year in a row that CAMP FREDDY have celebrated the X-Games at the House of Blues and Friday night the band added new songs and new guests to the set, including Scott Ian (ANTHRAX),Vivian Campbell (DEF LEPPARD) and Shooter Jennings. The group's setlist was as follows:

01. Ballroom Blitz
02. 20th Century Boy
03. Feel Like Makin Love
04. All Right Now
05. Seven Nation Army
06. Been Caught Stealing
07. Cat Scratch Fever
08. Pretty Vacant
09. Ziggy Stardust
10. Gloria
11. Roadhouse Blues
12. Surrender
13. It's So Easy
14. I Wanna Be Your Dog

CAMP FREDDY recently resumed work on its long-awaited debut album. "[I] spent a couple of days over in the Valley with [producer] Mike Clink," Morrison wrote in an April 2007 posting on his web site. "[I] sang on a track and did a bunch of guitar bits and pieces. And we also listened back to everything we have so far (we have been at this now for YEARS!!!) and it all still sounds really good. So we have scheduled another couple of guests to record next week. I think the idea is to just keep chipping away and one day we'll wake up to a completely finished record."

CAMP FREDDY performed its cover of the CHEAP TRICK classic "Surrender" on NBC-TV's "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno" on October 5, 2006. This was the band's first television appearance since "The Showbiz Show with David Spade" on Comedy Central in late June.

CAMP FREDDY's cover of "Surrender" was the lead single from the movie soundtrack "Employee of the Month". The song features the core CAMP FREDDY lineup of Dave Navarro, Billy Morrison, Matt Sorum and Scott Weiland, Donovan Leitch (vocals) and Chris Chaney (bass),and was recorded at Sorum's Drac Studios in Los Angeles.

CAMP FREDDY has been in and out of the recording studio over the past couple of years recording what is expected to eventually be released as the band's debut album. Among the cuts that are set to appear on the effort are "20th Century Boy" (also featuring Steve Jones from THE SEX PISTOLS on lead guitar) and THIN LIZZY's "Jailbreak" (featuring ALICE IN CHAINS guitarist Jerry Cantrell on vocals and Billy Duffy [ex-THE CULT] on lead guitar). Other guest musicians include RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS drummer Chad Smith and singer Macy Gray.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email