DEF LEPPARD: Covers Album Track Listing Confirmed, Additional Titles Revealed

February 2, 2005

DEF LEPPARD have confirmed the track listing for their upcoming "covers" album, tentatively due before the end of the year. A posting on the group's web site reads as follows:

"For a long while, the stories and rumors have been going round about DEF LEPPARD recording an album full of cover songs. While we can confirm that the band have indeed recorded their versions of some hit songs from the '70s, it is not 100 percent sure that these songs will actually be released as a full album. The band does have ideas about releasing these songs in form or another (an album, singles, B-sides, online, etc.) in 2005, but this has not materialized yet.

"We were trying to hold further news about this album back as long as possible, as we did not want it to interfere with the North American release of the 'Best Of' album (more news about that tomorrow),but it appears the excitement of the impending release of this much anticipated album has kind of forced us to reveal/confirm some more details..... So, ladies and gentlemen, for your perusal, here in glorious black and white, is a list of those songs that the band recorded for that projected covers album:

01. 10538 Overture (ELO)
02. 21st Century Boy (T-REX)
03. Don't Believe A Word (THIN LIZZY)
04. Drive In Saturday (DAVID BOWIE)
05. Hanging On The Telephone (BLONDIE)
06. Hellraiser (SWEET)
07. He's Gonna Step On You Again (a.k.a. "Step On") (JOHN KONGOS)
08. No Matter What (BADFINGER)
09. Little Bit Of Love (FREE)
10. Rock On (DAVID ESSEX)
11. Stay With Me (FACES)
12. Street Life (ROXY MUSIC)
13. The Golden Age Of Rock & Roll (MOTT THE HOOPLE)
14. Waterloo Sunset (THE KINKS)

"However, that's not all. While the 14 songs above were originally planned to be released on an album late 2004 indeed, the release of the 'Best Of' album in October of last year changed those plans drastically. And since then, eight more cover songs have been recorded:

02. Heartbeat (JOBRIATH)
03. How Does It Feel (SLADE)
04. Kick Out The Jams (MC5)
05. Roxanne (THE POLICE)
06. So Dear Friends (QUEEN)
07. When I'm Dead And Gone (MCGUINNESS FLINT)
08. Winter Song (LINDISFARNE)

"At this moment, with these 22 songs in the can, a track listing or running order is definitely too early to talk about. An actual projected release date, or title, is even further away..... But we can promise that sooner or later, these songs will make it to your CD player. Something to look forward to!"

In other news, DEF LEPPARD's official web site has uploaded an MP3 file containing last month's (Jan. 5) appearance by LEPPARD members Joe Elliott, Phil Collen and Vivian Campbell on "Jonesy's Jukebox" show on Indie 103 FM. During the show, the guys performed acoustic versions of T. REX's "Get It On", "Ziggy Stardust" and "Pour Some Sugar On Me". Also Phil's side project MANRAZE got its radio premiere during this show, as DJ Steve Jones played their song "Skin Crawl". Download the MP3 file at this location.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).