DEFTONES: 'B-Sides & Rarities' Due In October

August 22, 2005

Since the textured aggression of the DEFTONES' 1995 debut, the Northern California quintet has become an icon approved by mosh pits and critics alike for its exquisitely sculpted sonic roar. While the DEFTONES record the follow-up to their self-titled 2003 album, Maverick Records releases "B-Sides & Rarities". Filled with import-only B-sides, intriguing covers, unreleased mixes, and other choice rarities, the CD/DVD package is available October 4 at all physical and digital retail outlets for a suggested retail price of $24.98.

Compiled by the DEFTONES, this 14-song collection of remastered obscurities illuminates a hidden history behind the DEFTONES with more than an hour of unreleased music from bassist Chi Cheng; guitarist Stephen Carpenter; vocalist/guitarist Chino Moreno; drummer Abe Cunningham; and turntablist/keyboardist Frank Delgado. The liner notes for "B-Sides & Rarities" include a track-by-track commentary written by all five band members.

The DEFTONES cover an eclectic list of artists on "B-Sides & Rarities", revealing some of the bands and songs that have inspired them over the years, including COCTEAU TWINS' "Wax And Wane", LYNYRD SKYNYRD's "Simple Man", a punishing version of HELMET's "Sinatra", a strangely haunting interpretation of SADE's "No Ordinary Love", DURAN DURAN's "The Chauffeur", THE SMITHS' "Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want", and THE CURE's "If Only Tonight We Could Sleep".

Also included on "B-Sides & Rarities" are acoustic versions of DEFTONES classics "Change (In the House of Flies)", "Be Quiet And Drive (Far Away)" and "Digital Bath".

The DVD features never-before-seen footage of the DEFTONES through the years interspersed between all of the band's music videos, including "7 Words" and "Bored" from "Adrenaline"; "My Own Summer" and "Be Quiet And Drive (Far Away)" from "Around The Fur"; "Change (In the House of Flies)", "Back To School (Mini Maggit)", and "Digital Bath" from "White Pony"; and "Minerva", "Bloody Cape", and "Hexagram" from "Deftones". The DVD's special features include new live videos for "Engine Number 9" and "Root".

"B-Sides & Rarities" track listing:


01. Savory
02. Wax And Wane
03. Change (In the House of Flies) ­ acoustic
04. Simple Man
05. Sinatra
06. No Ordinary Love
07. Teenager (Idiot Version)
08. Crenshaw Punch/I'll Throw Rocks at You
09. Black Moon
10. If Only Tonight We Could Sleep
11. Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
12. Digital Bath ­ acoustic
13. The Chauffeur
14. Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away) ­ acoustic


01. 7 Words
02. Bored
03. My Own Summer
04. Be Quiet and Drive (Far Away)
05. Change (In the House of Flies)
06. Back to School (Mini Maggit)
07. Digital Bath
08. Minerva
09. Hexagram
10. Bloody Cape
Bonus Features:
* Engine Number 9
* Root

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email