DEMON Announces New Album 'Invincible', Shares 'Face The Master' Single

April 16, 2024

On its 45th anniversary as a band, iconic British heavy metal outfit DEMON has announced the release of a new studio album, "Invincible", due on May 17 via Frontiers Music Srl.

Considered one of the leading bands of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM),DEMON has also unveiled the first single and video, "Face The Master", which is out today and available on all digital platforms.

Speaking about the inspiration behind the song's writing process, vocalist and founder Dave Hill says: "The song was written by Neil Ogden and myself, who have always been fans of classic horror films, from 'Dracula' to 'The Exorcist', 'Salem's Lot' to 'Nightmare On Elm Street', where there always seems to be an uncontrollable power of the master throughout."

Offering a sound that melts their classic root hard rock approach with the progressive and epic overtones of their mid-1980s albums, "Invincible" is an absolute stunner of an LP which is going to make longtime aficionados very excited along with all the fans of such bands as MAGNUM, URIAH HEEP and classic RAINBOW.

Hill's raspy and soulful vocals may be the common denominator since the band's inception, but DEMON are possibly one of the few bands who have managed to maintain their signature sound during years and update it in the new century, still maintaining the taste for a ghoulish image and elegant music.

"Invincible" was written and produced by Hill and drummer Neil Ogden, and Dave Cotterill and Paul Hume are on guitars, Paul Fasker Johnson is on bass, and Karl Waye is on keyboards, completing the lineup.

Formed in 1979 by vocalist Hill, DEMON released their debut album, "Night Of The Demon", in 1981. After their 1982 follow-up album, "The Unexpected Guest", the band experimented beyond the NWOBHM sound. They moved towards a more melodic direction while retaining the traditional heavy metal black magic lyrical style. They took another change in direction in 1983 with "The Plague". It marked a swing towards a more progressive sound, adding the keyboards of session musician Andy Richards to the album's sound. Lyrically, the band also changed direction, switching to a more overtly political style that characterized their albums for the rest of their career.

"Heart Of Our Time" (1985) was the start of a new songwriting partnership between Hill and the new keyboardist Steven Watts. The album paved the way for the critically acclaimed "Breakout" (1987) and its follow-up, "Taking The World By Storm" (1989). DEMON released two more albums in the 1990s: 1991's "Hold On To The Dream" and 1992's "Blow Out", before splitting up in 1992.

Hill reunited the band with new members in 2001 and released a new album called "Spaced Out Monkey". The band has since released three more albums: "Better The Devil You Know" (2005),"Unbroken" (2012) and "Cemetery Junction" (2016).

The band will be touring in 2024 and will bring their timeless music on stage, with a repertoire spanning from "Night Of The Demon" to new hits such as "In My Blood", "Face The Master" and the new epic "Hole In The Sky".

Track listing:

01. Intro
02. In My Blood
03. Face The Master
04. Ghost From The Past
05. Beyond The Darkside
06. Hole In The Sky
07. Break The Spell
08. Rise Up
09. Invincible
10. Cradle To The Grave
11. Breaking The Silence
12. Forever Seventeen


Vocals - Dave Hill
Guitar - Dave Cotterill
Guitar - Paul Hume
Bass - Paul Fasker Johnson
Drums - Neil Ogden
Keyboard - Karl Waye

Find more on Demon
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).