November 2, 2010

Long-running D.C. doom legends PENTAGRAM, with riff-meister Victor Griffin back in the fold, will record their new album, "Last Rites", between November 29 and December 21 for a late March/early April release via Metal Blade Records. The effort will be a double-disc set consisting of the new studio album and a DVD of the band's performance at this year's Maryland Deathfest, which was held on May 28-30, 2010 at Sonar in Baltimore.

Working songtitles set to appear on the CD:

* Walk In The Blue Light
* Horseman
* Virgin Death
* Figure Eight
* Everything's Turning To Night
* Mark My Word
* Sunday's Child
* Old Man
* Thrill Of The Kill

PENTAGRAM's current lineup:

Bobby Liebling - Vocals
Victor Griffin - Guitar
Greg Turley - Bass
Gary Isom (SPIRIT CARAVAN) - Drums

PENTAGRAM: to the enlightened few they are one of the primary architects of heavy metal and obvious progenitors of doom metal, while to others they remain a mystery.

Less mysterious and downright miraculous is how the band (or more specifically the sole remaining original member, iconic vocalist Bobby Liebling) has triumphantly survived countless setbacks to return to the stage, armed with a limited yet astonishingly influential back catalogue.

Denman C. Anderson conducted an interview with PENTAGRAM at this year's Maryland Deathfest. Watch the chat below.

(Thanks: Matthew R. Tranker)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email