DOWN Guitarist Discusses 'Diary Of A Mad Band' Release (Video)

Video footage of DOWN guitarist Kirk Windstein talking about the band's forthcoming three-disc (2 CD/1 DVD) release, "Diary Of A Mad Band", can be viewed below.

"Diary Of A Mad Band" is scheduled for release on October 5, 2010. All pre-orders include an instant MP3 download of "Stone the Crow" live in Dublin.

* Pre-Order Bundle #1 - "Diary of a Mad Band" three-disc (2 CD/1 DVD) set - $18
* Pre-Order Bundle #2 - "Diary of a Mad Band" three-disc (2 CD/1 DVD) set with limited-edition pre-order only t-shirt - $30
* Pre-Order Bundle #3 - "Diary of a Mad Band" three-disc (2 CD/1 DVD), limited-edition DOWN 3'x 5' flag, limited edition pre-order only t-shirt - $45

Commented guitarist Pepper Keenan, "The DVD is an in-depth look at what five boys from the wrong side of the tracks can achieve when motivated by the will to escape hard times, fueled by an unexplainable quest to destroy live and be embraced by the love of fans whom we had not had the pleasure of meeting yet. This is how it's supposed to be: rock solid."

Added singer Philip Anselmo, "This is a semi-ugly glimpse into what would end up the perfect building blocks to a much more prosperous future! Raw, distorted, unpredictable, and with a freshly mended spine in tow, these shows were desperately important to us as a cohesive unit. Take this trip through the old days with us at your own risk, and don't forget to bring some aspirin!"

"Diary Of A Mad Band" features a two-CD full concert recorded in London. The 130-minute DVD features footage documenting the 2006 return of DOWN from the practice room through the band's first European tour, and a bonus behind-the-scenes featurette entitled "Tyrades and Shananigans".

DVD: Diary Of A Mad Band

01. Lysergic Funeral Procession
02. Lifer
03. Losing All
04. Rehab
05. New Orleans Is A Dying Whore
06. Ghosts Along The Mississippi
07. Learn From This Mistake
08. Underneath Everything
09. Temptation's Wings
10. There's Something On My Side
11. Hail The Leaf
12. Lies
13. The Seed
14. Eyes Of The South
15. Jail
16. Stone The Crows
17. Bury Me In Smoke
18. Bonus DVD Featurette: Tyrades And Shananigans

2 CD: Live In Europe

01. Losing All
02. Lifer
03. Lysergic Funeral Procession
04. Rehab
05. Temptation's Wings
06. Ghosts Along The Mississippi
07. Learn From This Mistake
08. Hail The Leaf
09. New Orleans Is A Dying Whore
10. Lies, I Don't Know What They Say But...
11. Underneath Everything
12. The Seed
13. Eyes Of The South
14. Jail
15. Stone The Crows
16. Bury Me In Smoke

If that isn't enough for a rabid fan, a 180-gram triple-vinyl version with a bonus DVD will be available on October 26.

In a July 2010 interview with Altsounds, Windstein stated about the forthcoming DVD, "It's basically our 2006 reunion tour in chronological order, when we decided to put the band back together and make it a proper band. It starts in Hamburg, Germany, which is the first show, then through to Download, which actually wasn't the last show 'cause we also did one in Ireland, but other than that, it's in chronological order; it's one song from each of those shows. It's not like a PANTERA behind-the-scenes [collection of clips], with everybody cutting up and drinking, titties-everywhere kinda thing, because we could never top that 'cause Dime [late PANTERA guitarist 'Dimebag' Darrell Abbott] was a genius when it came to stuff like that. We made more of a Seventies-style rock and roll kind of movie like the ones I grew up watching, a lot more along the lines of 'The Song Remains The Same' by LED ZEPPELIN or 'Let There Be Rock' by AC/DC. It's a movie."

In October 2008, DOWN released a "deluxe edition" of its critically acclaimed third album, "Over the Under". The deluxe package, which was made available as a Best Buy exclusive, included a DVD with over 30 minutes of previously unreleased live performances and behind-the-scenes footage.

The album was released on Down Records in conjunction with Warner Music Group's Independent Label Group (ILG).

Kirk Windstein talks about "Diary Of A Mad Band":

\n \n \n \n \n \n \n \n

"Diary Of A Mad Band" trailer:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).