DRACONIAN: 'A Rose For The Apocalypse' Track Listing Unveiled

May 4, 2011

Swedish gothic/doom metal band DRACONIAN will release its new album, "A Rose For The Apocalypse", on June 24 via Napalm Records. The cover artwork was created by Seth Siron Anton (PARADISE LOST, KAMELOT, ROTTING CHRIST, MOONSPELL) and can be seen below. A limited digipack version of the CD with one bonus song will also be made available.

A new DRACONIAN track, "The Last Hour Of Ancient Sunlight", is featured on Napalm Records' free sampler"Nothing Burns Like Napalm", which also includes music from ALESTORM, LEAVES' EYES, KAMPFAR, STREAM OF PASSION and TR, among others.

"A Rose For The Apocalypse" track listing:

01. The Drowning Age (7:18)
02. The Last Hour Ancient Sunlight (5:26)
03. End Of The Rope (6:34)
04. Elysian Night (7:52)
05. Deadlight (6:32)
06. Dead World Assembly (5:52)
07. A Phantom Dissonance (5:39)
08. The Quiet Storm (6:37)
09. The Death Of Hours (7:48)
10. Wall Of Sighs (5:14)

DRACONIAN vocalist Anders Jacobsson previously stated about "A Rose For The Apocalypse", "Jens Bogren of Fascination Street [studios in rebro, Sweden] sprinkled his magic over the songs during the production and mixing process and each and every song found its way. We are grateful to have such a committed producer and we can only feel blessed by the experience to once again have made another album reality at Fascination Street.

"The new album is called 'A Rose For The Apocalypse' and deals with a vast dilemma we're all facing as one species; the horrors and contradictions we've created in our 'nature-divorced' system. The title refers to the collapse of this structure, built by mindless human opinion. It also refers to the necessity of its demise. We are trying to capture the gloom of its realization. I don't know if we'd want to call this a conceptual album, but most songs certainly deal with the same topic in one way or the other. I've reached a point in my life when my eyes remain open.

"To most of you, 'A Rose For The Apocalypse' might appear a darker, more threatening album compared to the previous [album], 'Turning Season Within'. And yes, it is different in several ways, but DRACONIAN remains the same.

"I have often said that our new work resembles a mix between the old and the new DRACONIAN and will unite fans of both preferences. While listening to this album, I feel a lot of history comes together in one place, at least sound-wise.

"Our old friend Olof Gthlin contributes with some of his excellent violin skills on the album. Cover and layout is created by the amazing Seth Siron Anton.

"We sincerely hope we've created an album that will make impact on our beloved fans. Thank you for keeping up, sticking by us and maintained your faith in DRACONIAN."

DRACONIAN's last album, "Turning Season Within", in 2008 entered the album chart in Sweden at position No. 68. The CD was recorded at Fascination Street studio during September 2007 and features a guest appearance by NOVEMBERS DOOM vocalist Paul Kuhr.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email