DRAGONLAND: New Song Available For Streaming

November 10, 2011

An edited version of the song "The Black Mare" from Swedish power metallers DRAGONLAND can be streamed using the SoundCloud player below. The track comes off the band's new album, "Under The Grey Banner", which will be released on November 18 via AFM Records. The third part of the "Dragonland Chronicles" trilogy features musical actor Fred Johanson in the role of the antagonist, with all three singers from AMARANTHEElize Ryd, Jake E and Andy Solvestrm also making appearances.

DRAGONLAND's fifth album was recorded at several different studios, with Jacob Hansen adding his magic touch to the mix at Hansen studios in Ribe, Denmark. Twelve songs were recorded during the sessions, and the music itself is based on a deep and emotional story, picking up where the band's second album, "Holy War", left off nine years ago.

"Under The Grey Banner" track listing:

01. Ilmarion
02. Shadow Of The Mithril Mountains
03. The Tempest
04. A Thousand Towers White
05. Fire And Brimstone
06. The Black Mare
07. Lady Of Goldenwood
08. Drnir's Forge
09. The Trials Of Mount Farnor
10. Throne Of Bones
11. Under The Grey Banner
12. Ivory Shores

"Fire And Brimstone" is available for streaming in the YouTube clip below.

The visual artist from million-selling PC game "The Witcher", Damian Bajowski, will provide artwork for the album; not only will he be responsible for the cover, but will also make illustrations for the various locations in the saga.

Commented guitarist Olof Mrck: "To say I am excited about this album is a grave understatement!

"We were more than thrilled when both Damian Bajwoski and Fred Johanson accepted to contribute to this album. To have the album fully illustrated with majestic scenes and vistas from the story, and to have such a powerful and convincing voice in the role of the antagonist will lend a lot of credibility and depth to the final project! Our singer friends from AMARANTHE also appear in minor roles, further developing the universe the story is set in.

"We really feel that our ambition to give our fantasy story a touch of depth, credibility and maturity paid off well! Lending influences from classical mythology, the best fantasy movies, video games and books, we feel that fans of the style who normally finds fantasy power metal to be too over the top and ridiculous could wholeheartedly enjoy this. We also have some further surprises for you before the actual album release, to keep your eyes open and your senses wary!"

DRAGONLAND recently parted ways with guitarist Nicklas Magnusson and bassist Christer Pedersen. Taking over bass duties is Anders Hammer (NIGHTRAGE) and sitting behind the drums is Morten Lowe Sorensen (THE ARCANE ORDER, SUBMISSION, AMARANTHE). Previous drummer Jesse Lindskog will handle second-guitar duties in the future.


Vocals: Jonas Hedigert
Guitars: Olof Mrck
Keyboards: Elias Holmlid
Guitars: Jesse Lindskog
Bass: Anders Hammer
Drums: Morten Lowe Sorensen

DRAGONLAND's fourth album, "Astronomy", was released in November 2006 via Century Media Records.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email