DREAM THEATER: Pro-Shot Footage Of WACKEN OPEN AIR Performance

August 1, 2015

Professionally filmed video footage of DREAM THEATER's July 31 performance at the Wacken Open Air festival in Wacken, Germany can be seen below.

Featured songs:

01. Intro - 0:45
02. Afterlife - 3:19
03. Metropolis - 8:52
04. Burning My Soul - 19:22
05. Spirit Carries On - 24:57
06. As I Am - 32:44
07. Panic Attack - 40:22
08. Constant Motion - 48:26
09. Bridges In The Sky - 55:26
10. Behind the Veil - 1:05:03
11. Interview with John Petrucci and James LaBrie - 1:12:36

DREAM THEATER guitarist John Petrucci told Arte at Wacken about the band's follow-up to 2013's self-titled album: "We've been in the studio since January. In fact, this tour has broken up our time in the studio. In fact, we're doing some work here on the road as well. We're very busy in hotel rooms, [doing] some last-minute writing and getting some things done. But, yeah, we've been in the studio since January. It's going great. We'll be wrapping up probably in the fall and it'll come out early next year."

On the topic of DREAM THEATER's three-decade-long career, Petrucci said: "It's amazing. Not a lot of bands can say that they've been together for that long. And it's still going incredibly well. We definitely feel like the best is yet to come, and we built something that's really special. So it's amazing. I mean, John [Myung, bass] and I, we've played together since we were, like, 12 [or] 13 years old, and I'm still standing on stage with John on bass, looking across. It's a wild feeling."

Added singer James LaBrie: "It's pretty amazing to be in the kind of industry that we are and to say that we've been around for thirty years and we're still relevant today. You know, the fact is that we still feel that we're evolving as a band. We're continuing to grow musically, and we see that our audience and our fan base is continually being cultivated. So, just to be in a situation as that says so much. It's so much to be grateful for."

"Dream Theater" sold around 34,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 7 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD, which arrived in stores on September 24, 2013 via Roadrunner, earned DREAM THEATER its second Grammy nomination, for "Best Metal Performance" for the single "The Enemy Inside".

Find more on Dream theater
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email