DREAM THEATER Unveils Career-Spanning Box Set: 'The Studio Albums 1992-2011'

May 16, 2014

Roadrunner Records has announced the release of an epic box set from the legendary DREAM THEATER. "The Studio Albums 1992-2011" arrives in stores everywhere on July 8.

"The Studio Albums 1992-2011" collects the first 10 studio albums from DREAM THEATER's groundbreaking two-decade-plus career, from 1992's RIAA (Recording Industry Association Of America) gold-certified classic "Images And Words" to 2011's Grammy Award-nominated milestone "A Dramatic Turn Of Events". The 11-disc set will be available in CD with pre-orders now underway on Amazon.

Long renowned as one of rock's most audacious live acts, DREAM THEATER is currently in the midst of its marathon "An Evening With Dream Theater - Along For The Ride World Tour", with European headline concerts and top-billed festival appearances slated through the summer.

With total sales exceeding 10 million albums and DVDs worldwide, DREAM THEATER have long stood among the upper echelon of hard rock giants. Albums such as "Images & Words" (featuring the breakthrough top 10 single, "Pull Me Under") and 2002's double album, "Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence", have earned the Long Island-based band countless accolades for their visionary synthesis of melodic power and virtuosic experimentation, including being named as one of Rolling Stone's top 10 "Best Prog Rock Bands of All Time."

DREAM THEATER united with Roadrunner in 2007 and has since unleashed a series of remarkable albums, each work revealing stunning new musical facets and creative avenues. 2009's "Black Clouds & Silver Linings" proved a major achievement, debuting at No. 6 on the Billboard 200 — the band's highest album chart debut to date.

In 2010, DREAM THEATER found themselves at a career crossroads following the departure of founding drummer/co-producer Mike Portnoy. To fill his seemingly unfillable seat, the band conducted an ambitious search — a process documented in a highly viewed YouTube series — which resulted in the addition of the gifted Mike Mangini. Most significantly, the challenge spurred DREAM THEATER to extraordinary artistic heights with 2011's landmark "A Dramatic Turn Of Events", earning the band its first ever Grammy Award nomination (in the "Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance" category). Highlighted by the single "On The Backs Of Angels", the album proved one of the iconic band's most successful, making Top-10 chart debut in 14 countries, including The Billboard 200. Furthermore, "A Dramatic Turn Of Events" was hailed for its ambition, complexity, and sheer melodic power, with Japan's influential Burrn! naming it the year's "Best Album."

2013's "Dream Theater" — which is not included on "The Studio Albums 1992-2011" — made a spectacular debut upon its release, both here and around the globe. The album entered Billboard's Hard Rock Albums chart at No. 1 while simultaneously arriving at No. 7 on the overall The Billboard 200 — DREAM THEATER's third consecutive Top 10 debut. What's more, "Dream Theater" reaped a second Grammy nomination, with the single "The Enemy Inside" honored as "Best Metal Performance."

"Dream Theater", which was recorded at Cove City Sound Studios in Glen Cove, New York, with John Petrucci producing and studio luminary Richard Chycki (AEROSMITH, RUSH) engineering and mixing, marks a brilliant new chapter for the always-adventurous group. Rolling Stone touted the collection as "the birth of a new era in the band's career," while Loudwire picked "Dream Theater" as one of the "10 Best Metal Albums of 2013" and Noisecreep selected the record as one of the "10 Best Vinyl Releases of 2013."

DREAM THEATER is: John Petrucci (guitar, founding member),John Myung (bass, founding member),James LaBrie (vocals),Jordan Rudess (keyboards and continuum),and Mike Mangini (drums).

"The Studio Albums 1992-2011"

Disc 1: "Images And Words" (1992)
Disc 2: "Awake" (1994)
Disc 3: "Falling Into Infinity" (1997)
Disc 4: "Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes From A Memory" (1999)
Discs 5 & 6: "Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence" (2002)
Disc 7: "Train Of Thought" (2003)
Disc 8: "Octavarium" (2005)
Disc 9: "Systematic Chaos" (2007)
Disc 10: "Black Clouds & Silver Linings" (2009)
Disc 11: "A Dramatic Turn Of Events" (2011)



Find more on Dream theater
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).