DUB WAR To Release First Album Of New Material In Over 25 Years

March 3, 2022

Fusion metal pioneers DUB WAR have released their brand new rousing single "Blackkk Man", the first single off of their first album of all-new material in over 25 years, "Westgate Under Fire". Watch the new lyric video here.

The track packs a punch with jagged guitar, furious rhythms and tough vocals from founder and frontman Benji Webbe (who many will also recognize as the mighty SKINDRED's lead singer). Released in the midst of the celebration of Black History Month in the U.S., "Blackkk Man" is a furious revolt against racism and a bleak reflection of crucial events from this decade in particular, including the murder of George Floyd.

Says Webbe: "This song is exactly how I was feeling at the time of Mr. Floyd's murder. This is a cry from my heart for equal rights and justice — and the other boys in the band feel the same as I do. No one chooses the skin they're in. Should the skin you're in help you to win? It's a question we all need to think about. This racist injustice has been going on way too long and, unfortunately, even with all the cries and the pain, it still continues."

The accompanying lyric video, compiled and edited by Aran Webster, serves to drive the critical message contained in the lyricism of "Blackkk Man" further, putting society's outrageous double standards in plain sight via news footage and articles.

A thought-provoking statement song, "Blackkk Man" and the album it resides on launches DUB WAR back into the industry as the band who turned heads with their groundbreaking genre-bending once more. Alongside this potent punk rock-laced track, "Westgate Under Fire" offers up dance infused metal, ragga-punk and sinister metal with exotic beats.

A band born and raised in Newport, "Westgate Under Fire" shines a light on a crucial event in their hometown's history, the Newport Uprising. An event which would play a role in transforming democracy in Britain and the world, the uprising in 1839 saw thousands from the Chartist movement march through south Wales, seeking social reform, including the right for men of all classes to vote. The marches ended in a bloody battle at the Westgate Hotel, which saw many of the Chartists dead or wounded. "Westgate Under Fire" aims to embody the empowerment that Chartists took upon themselves and coincides with the local community resurrecting the derelict Westgate Hotel into an exciting new venue.

"Westgate Under Fire" will be released on August 5 via Earache Records. It is available for pre-order worldwide on signed, limited-edition colored vinyl, black vinyl, signed CD and limited cassette.

Webbe says: "Although I'm in SKINDRED, DUB WAR has always been very dear to my heart. The pandemic and lockdown gave me a lot of time to write with [original members] Richie [Glover, bass] and Jeff [Rose, guitar]. We played a few reunion shows before COVID hit, and the shows felt so good, so we began to write some new DUB WAR songs."

While fellow Newport resident and good friend Mikee "Krupa" Gregory took to the skins for many of the album's tracks, "Westgate Under Fire" sees six different drummers offer their rhythm-keeping for the album.

"Adding six different drummers from around the world was a very exciting prospect for us," enthuses Benji. "Each drummer was a friend and a fan of DUB WAR who brought their own unique blend, and has made this album probably the most entertaining to date, with each track taking you on a sonic journey."

The scenes from which these drummers and the album's other guest musicians come from are as far-reaching as DUB WAR's sound, with the album welcoming STONE SOUR's Roy Mayorga, FAITH NO MORE's Mike Bordin, SNOT's Mikey Doling and Jamie Miller, IN FLAMES' Tanner Wayne, ILL NIÑO's Dave Chavarri, KILLING JOKE's Spike T Smith, alongside ska legend Ranking Roger. "Westgate Under Fire" also features a host of good friends behind the mixing desk: Richard "Action" Jackson (who produced the majority of the album),the late Grammy-nominated Rick Will ("Rick was an amazing vibe master," says Benji),Lord Hagos (SENSER, LODESTAR) and Bryan "Chuck" New.

"The album was written over lockdown in 2020 and recorded at each of the bandmembers' home studios," says Benji. "What made it special was having Richard 'Action' Jackson mixing it.

"As difficult as the period was in which we recorded the album, we still kept the vibes rocking and the energy on each track bouncing. It's definitely been a party of bridge building, love and helping each other keep sane in such a harsh time for musicians and performers."

"Westgate Under Fire" track listing:

01. Blackkk Man
02. War Inna Babylon
03. Vibes In The Place
04. Art Of War
05. Reveal It
06. Mary Shelley
07. Bite Back
08. Coffin Lid
09. Crying Clowns
10. Get Back Up
11. Fun Done
12. Stay Together
13. Celtic Cross


* Benjii Webbe (vocalist / frontman)
* Richie Glover (bassist)
* Jeff Rose (guitarist)

Guest musicians:

* Mikee "Krupa" Gregory (drummer)
* Spike T Smith (guest drummer, "Art Of War")
* Mike Bordin (guest drummer, "Get Back Up")
* Roy Mayorga (guest drummer, "Reveal It")
* Tanner Wayne (guest drummer, "Celtic Cross")
* Ranking Roger (guest vocalist, "War Inna Babylon")
* Dave Chavarri (guest drummer, "Bite Back")
* Jamie Miller (guest drummer, "Crying Clowns")
* Mikey Doling (guest guitarist, "Crying Clowns")

Photo credit: Ania Shrimpton

Find more on Dub war
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).