EINHERJER To Release 'Norrøne Spor' Album In November

August 9, 2018

Viking metal veterans EINHERJER have carried out their vision for more than two decades. The band was there when Norwegian extreme metal grew forth and took shape as an enormous cultural export.

Only four years after their masterpiece "Av Oss, For Oss" and two years after "Dragons Of The North XX", the band will release its ninth full-length album, titled "Norrøne Spor", on November 9. The disc's first single and music video, "Spre Vingene", can be seen below.

EINHERJER's Norse heritage is a phenomenon that reaches far beyond what one can hear alone. It is an amalgamation of the mystique and sagas of old, of songs and poems, of woodcutting and sword grinding and the vikings merciless way of life. It's a cultural patchwork that fills the consciousness with the brutal majesty of the Nordic nature, the elemental strain, of mighty longships plowing the black seas to reach unknown shores. The wisdom of the gods and their Valhalla. Of cultural encounters and trade. Of violence and brutality. Of tough men in a tough time. Their hometown Haugesund also rings with historic sound, and from their own shores on the west coast of Norway the influence of the Vikings stretched towards the sea and the world beyond. The adventurers, pioneers, poets and craftsmen have inspired EINHERJER to go their own way. The Vikings' courage and boldness have inspired us to never compromise EINHERJER's vision, a vision that is a unique, self-made, original and modern interpretation of our mighty Nordic heritage.

EINHERJER vocalist and bassist Frode Glesnes commented: "Classic EINHERJER meets the future and the past. No, we have not returned to our roots. That's a way overused cliché and it always calls for bullshit. We have simply written and arranged more stuff together.

"On our last few albums we have written songs separately; this time we've looked at what happens when Gerhard and me are in a room together.

"We still have a firm grip on what EINHERJER is all about. That will never change.

"Here is 10 new songs that any heathen metalhead should be able to love and appreciate. No bullshit, just 10 great metal songs."

He added about the single: "New EINHERJER single. It always feels good to release something new, but this time we've fuckin' nailed it! Can't wait to present the whole album."

Track listing:

01. The Spirit OF A Thousand Years
02. Mine Våpen Mine Ord
03. Fra Konge Te Narr
04. Kill The Flame
05. Mot Vest
06. Spre Vingene
07. The Blood Song
08. Døden Tar Ingen Fangar
09. Tapt Uskyld
10. Av Djupare Røtter


Frode Glesnes - guitar, bass, vocals
Gerhard Storesund - drums, samples
Aksel Herløe - guitar, backing vocals
Ole Sønstabø - lead guitar

Find more on Einherjer
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email