ENSIFERUM: More New Album Details Revealed

April 22, 2009

Finnish folk metallers ENSIFERUM have issued the following update:

"As you might know, ENSIFERUM started recording [our] fourth album on April 13. Album is recorded/produced by Tero Kinnunen (NIGHTWISH, AMORPHIS) and Janne Joutsenniemi ('Victory Songs' producer). Album will be mixed by Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS).

"As usual, there will be lot of session folk musicians but there will also be some surprises. We will update track list later but we can reveal that there will be seven songs plus intro and a cover song featuring a very special guest. Album will be released 9.9.09 [September 9, 2009] and after that band will start tour which will reach lands near, far and beyond."

As previously reported, ENSIFERUM will embark on a European headlining tour in October. Support on the trek will come from METSATOLL and TRACEDAWN.

ENSIFERUM has posted the first in a series of video clips documenting the recording sessions for the band's fourth album. Watch it at this location.

ENSIFERUM had its first two albums made officially available in the U.K. for the very first time. The records in question — "Ensiferum" (2001) and "Iron" (2004) — were released on March 30 via Spinefarm Records. Both albums come with bonus material.

After entering the studio for the first time in the latter part of the '90s, ENSIFERUM has been constantly sharpening its sound, dispensing epic music heavy in both atmosphere and attack, with its most recent "Victory Songs" opus (reissued in the U.K. last year as a two-CD set with the "Dragonheads" EP) taking "folk/viking melodic metal" to a whole new level of grandeur.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email