EPICA: Previously Unreleased Track Posted Online

October 27, 2003

Holland's EPICA (formerly SAHARA DUST),the new group formed by ex-AFTER FOREVER guitarist Mark Jansen, ex-CASSIOPEIA guitarist Ad Sluijter and keyboardist Coen Janssen, have posted an MP3 clip of the previously unreleased song "Veniality" at this location. "Veniality" comes off the band's forthcoming single, "The Phantom Agony", which is scheduled for release on October 29 through Transmission Records.

As previously reported, the complete track listing for the single (view cover here) is as follows:

01. The Phantom Agony (4:35) (single version)
02. Veniality (4:36) (prev. unreleased track)
03. Fa├žade of Reality (8:12)
04. Veniality (4:37) (prev. unreleased orchestral version)

To promote the single, the group have filmed a video for the title track. The clip was shot at several locations during a four-day period and will likely be aired only on the Dutch television channel The Box. The first 1,000 copies of the single will feature a specially designed cover.

"The Phantom Agony" (the album) was recorded at Gate Studio in Wolfsburg, Germany under the expert guidance of the renowned producer and technician Sascha Paeth (RHAPSODY, KAMELOT, ANGRA) and was released on June 17 through Transmission Records. It entered the Dutch album chart at No. 88 and climbed to No. 54 before dropping down to No. 62 in its third week of release.

The group, which is completed by vocalist Simone Simons, ex-CASSIOPEIA drummer Jeroen Simons, and ex-AXAMENTA bassist Yves Huts, worked with Norwegian singer Helena Michaelsen (ex-TRAIL OF TEARS) during its embryonic stage before settling on Simons, a classically trained opera singer whose style is said to perfectly complement the complex, progressive nature of the band's material.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).