EPICA: 'The Divine Conspiracy' Artwork Revealed

June 13, 2007

Dutch female-fronted symphonic metal band EPICA has revealed the cover artwork for its new album, "The Divine Conspiracy", due in Europe on September 10 via Nuclear Blast Records (September 7 in Germany). Check it out at this location.

"The Divine Conspiracy", which was mixed by Sascha Paeth, features a session appearance by GOD DETHRONED drummer Ariën van Weesenbeek. EPICA has yet to name a full-time drummer following the departure of Jeroen Simons in 2006.

"The Divine Conspiracy" final track listing:

01. Indigo - Prologue
02. The Obsessive Devotion
03. Menace of Vanity
04. Chasing the Dragon
05. Never Enough
06. La‘petach Chatat Rovetz - The Final Embrace
07. Death of a Dream - The Embrace that Smothers Part VII
08. Living a Lie - The Embrace that Smothers Part VIII
09. Fools of Damnation - The Embrace that Smothers Part IX
10. Beyond Belief
11. Safeguard to Paradise
12. Sancta Terra
13. The Divine Conspiracy

Total running time: 75:36

According to a posting on the band's web site, "The Divine Conspiracy" "will be EPICA's first full length concept album. This concept deals with the theory that, as a test, God created all kinds of different religions and released those upon humanity to see if they would be able to find the true nature of them, realizing that in all religions it is actually the same. But there's more to it; it also concludes the 'Embrace That Smothers' concept that could already be found on 'The Phantom Agony'."

EPICA has revealed that AFTER FOREVER guitarist Sander Gommans has laid down some of "his amazing grunts for one of the songs" on the new CD.

EPICA recently returned from Belgrade, Serbia, where the band filmed a video for the first single off "The Divine Conspiracy", entitled "Never Enough". This clip was shot by renowned director Ivan Colic from ICode Team and Rock the Nations.

EPICA's June 21, 2007 concert at The Underground in Cologne (Köln),Germany will be filmed as part of the WDR TV network's "Rockpalast" series. The footage will air at a later date.

As previously reported, EPICA has been confirmed as the support act for SONATA ARCTICA on their upcoming European tour in November.

Formed by guitarist, vocalist and songwriter Mark Jansen (ex-AFTER FOREVER) in 2002, EPICA has so far released three albums, among them a full-length soundtrack in the vein of Hollywood composers Hans Zimmer and Danny Elfman. The Dutch metallers have already played in 24 countries, and have completed successful tours in Europe, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and the USA.

EPICA will embark on a North American headlining tour in September. Support at the shows will come from the Austrian/American "epic metal" band VISIONS OF ATLANTIS.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email