EXCITER Interviewed In Athens; Video Available

November 29, 2008

Elena Mihailidou and Labro Tenne of Metalzone.gr conducted an interview with Canadian thrash metal pioneers EXCITER on November 21, 2008 when the band made its live debut in Athens, Greece. Watch the 24-minute chat below.

As previously reported, EXCITER bassist Rob "Clammy" Cohen will be interviewed on the "Heavy Metal Mayhem" show on Blogtalkradio.com on Sunday, November 30 at 6:00 p.m. EST.

For more information and to listen to the program live via the Internet, go to this location.

The 1988 critically maligned self-titled album from EXCITER will be reissued with new artwork on January 20, 2009 via Magnetic Air/MVD.

"Exciter" saw the group's drummer/singer Dan Beehler relinquishing his vocal duties to singer Rob Malnati. But the strategy backfired, according to Answers.com, as the album's almost complete abandonment of thrash for a slower, mainstream metal approach alienated what remained of their already dwindling fan base and led to the band's breakup shortly thereafter.

The track listing for the reissue is as follows:

01. Scream Bloody Murder
02. Back In The Light
03. Ready To Rock
04. O.T.T.
05. I Wanna Be King
06. Enemy Lines
07. Dying To Live
08. Playin' With Fire
09. Eyes In The Sky
10. Termination

"Exciter" recording lineup:

Dan Beehler - Drums
Rob Malnati - Vocals
Brian McPhee - Guitar
Allan James Johnson - Bass

EXCITER's latest album, "Thrash Speed Burn" — which features sole remaining original member John Ricci (guitar) alongside Rik Charron (drums),Clammy (bass) and Kenny Winter (vocals) — was released in North America on November 4 via Blistering Records, the new label formed by industry veterans Tomas Sunmo, Lars Chriss (LION'S SHARE) and Jim Pitulski (Inside Out Music America). The CD was issued in Europe on February 22 via Massacre Records. It marks EXCITER's recorded debut with new singer Winter, who joined the band in October 2006.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email