Expanded Version of NIRVANA's 'MTV Unplugged In New York' To Be Released As 2LP Set For 25th Anniversary

September 27, 2019

Named one of the 10 best live albums of all time by Rolling Stone, NIRVANA's "MTV Unplugged In New York" will be reissued on vinyl on November 1 in celebration of the 25th anniversary of its 1994 release.

Expanded to include five rehearsal performances previously only available on DVD, the anniversary release also features an exclusive gatefold jacket including anniversary silver foil detail on the front and back cover.

In addition to the 180-gram black vinyl edition that will be available wherever fine vinyl is sold, an exclusive, limited-edition colored vinyl edition will be available only at Nirvana.com while supplies last.

Vinyl track listing:

LP 1 - Side A

01. About A Girl
02. Come As You Are
03. Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam
04. The Man Who Sold The World

LP 1 - Side B

01. Pennyroyal Tea
02. Dumb
03. Polly
04. On A Plain
05. Something In The Way

LP 2 - Side C

01. Plateau
02. Oh Me
03. Lake Of Fire
04. All Apologies
05. Where Did You Sleep Last Night?

LP 2 - Side D

01. Come As You Are (Rehearsal)
02. Polly (Rehearsal)
03. Plateau (Rehearsal)
04. Pennyroyal Tea (Rehearsal)
05. The Man Who Sold The World (Rehearsal)

DSP track listing:

01. About A Girl
02. Come As You Are
03. Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam
04. The Man Who Sold The World
05. Pennyroyal Tea
06. Dumb
07. Polly
08. On A Plain
09. Something In The Way
10. Plateau
11. Oh Me
12. Lake Of Fire
13. All Apologies
14. Where Did You Sleep Last Night?
15. Come As You Are (Rehearsal)
16. Polly (Rehearsal)
17. Plateau (Rehearsal)
18. Pennyroyal Tea (Rehearsal)
19. The Man Who Sold The World (Rehearsal)

Dave Grohl told The Pulse Of Radio a while back that NIRVANA recorded a lot of material that has never seen the light of day. "There's a lot of unreleased stuff that no one's ever heard," he said. "There's a lot of unreleased stuff that I've never heard. I mean, I was the fifth drummer. I didn't join until 1990, but spent a lot of time demoing and recording basement practices, and things like that."

A selection of unreleased recordings heard on the soundtrack of the documentary "Kurt Cobain: Montage Of Heck", along with never-before-heard material from Kurt Cobain's personal archives, was released in 2015.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).