EXTREME: New Song Posted Online

July 22, 2008

A brand new EXTREME track entitled "Comfortably Dumb" has been posted online at this location. The song comes off the reunited Boston hard rockers' first studio album in thirteen years, "Saudades de Rock" (pronounced "sow-dodge"),which will be released in the U.S. on August 12 on Open E Records and distributed by Fontana. The European version of the CD, which is due on August 1, will include a bonus track, the "Americocaine" demo from 1985, the very first studio recording of EXTREME.

The iconic rock foursome — vocalist Gary Cherone, guitarist Nuno Bettencourt, bassist Pat Badger and new drummer Kevin Figueiredo — recorded their fifth studio offering at NRG Studios in Los Angeles with Bettencourt at the helm as producer and mixer. "Saudades de Rock" boasts 13 tracks, including the infectious roar of "Star" (available for streaming on the band's MySpace page),the groove-laden, swagger of "King Of The Ladies", a raw funk rock anthem called "Learn To Love", and the expressive ballad "Ghost".

"'Saudades' was always a beautiful word to me," Bettencourt explains about the Portuguese album moniker. "It expresses a longing; an underlying sadness for something or someone that's been missing in your life, and never quite sure if it will ever return. In this case, for us, it's rock and roll. Saudades de Rock."

Gary Cherone adds, "I like how it expresses that longing we've been feeling to play for our fans and be together again."

"Saudades de Rock" track listing:

01. Star (mp3 sample)
02. Comfortably Dumb
03. Learn To Love
04. Take Us Alive
05. Run
06. Last Hour
07. Flower Man
08. King Of The Ladies
09. Ghost (mp3 sample)
10. Slide
11. Interface
12. Sunrise
13. Peace (Saudade)
14. Americocaine (1985 demo; European bonus track)

The Boston-bred band's 2008 "Take Us Alive" world tour gets underway on July 29 at The Chance in Poughkeepsie, N.Y. and will be anchored by a hometown gig two days later at the Bank of America Pavilion.

Open E Records is a new label that is distributed by Fontana. A portion of Open E Records' profits will be donated to Music Drives Us, a foundation created as a way to support music in New England. The foundation also gives scholarship money for individuals who desire to continue their musical education.

EXTREME performing on July 11, 2008 at the five-day Rocklahoma festival in Pryor, OK:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).