EXTREME/Ex-VAN HALEN Singer GARY CHERONE Returns With New HURTSMILE Album 'Retrogrenade'

April 29, 2014

HURTSMILE, the band led by the third VAN HALEN frontman, Gary Cherone (also of EXTREME),who took over when Sammy Hagar left the group (or was fired, depending on whom you ask) in 1996, is teaming up with PledgeMusic.com to issue a new album, "Retrogrenade", on June 2, with a public release to follow.

Available now at PledgeMusic.com is a free download of the single "Rock & Roll Cliché".

Following up the group's 2011 self-titled debut, HURTSMILE's "Retrogrenade" pays homage to almost every genre Cherone has presented in the past and still finds room to give you something new. Inspired by their classic rock roots, "it is the collective effort of the band flexing their musical muscle," says Gary. Diverse tracks include the AEROSMITH- and AC/DC-inspired "Rock & Roll Cliché", the hook-laden "Hello I Must Be Going", the epic blues of "Where Do We Go From Here", to the sweet acoustic broken-hearted harmonies of "Goodbye". HURTSMILE rebels against traditional cohesiveness and does not attempt to capture a specific mood. It rather bombards you with a multitude of emotions and challenges you to go along for the ride.

HURTSMILE is Gary Cherone on vocals, Mark Cherone (FLESH) on guitar, Joe Pessia (TANTRIC, DRAMAGODS) on bass and Dana Spellman on drums.

"Retrogrenade" track listing:

01. Rock & Roll Cliché
02. Hello I Must Be Going
03. Big Government
04. I Still Do
05. Sing A Song (My Mia)
06. Anymore (Don't Want My Love)
07. Where Do We Go From Here
08. A Melody For You
09. Wonder What
10. Walk Away
11. Good Bye
12. Pump it Up



Find more on Gary cherone
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).