FALL OF SERENITY: Video Footage From Recording Studio Posted Online

April 18, 2008

German behemoth FALL OF SERENITY will release its fourth full-length album, "The Crossfire", in North America on May 13. But much has changed since we last heard from the death-thrash axe-slayers. After 2006's herculean "Bloodred Salvation", long-time bass player John Gahlert took over the microphone, while guitarist Alex Fischer switched over to the bass and Ferdinand Rewicki joined the band on the vacant six-string spot. All the personnel changes made for a creatively reinvigorated FALL OF SERENITY, and a gargantuan leap forward from the group's previous work. Clearly trumpeting the vintage bay area spirit of the '80s, "The Crossfire" is a confident slab of ultra-heavy thrash, bolstered by massive guitars, smartly-written hooks, and extreme metal's characteristic brutality.

"The Crossfire" was produced and recorded at the well known Rape Of Harmonies Studio by Ralf Mller (IMPENDING DOOM, MAROON, HEAVEN SHALL BURN, etc) and was mixed and mastered by legendary metal-minded Swede Dan Swan.

Singer John Gahlert comments on the new tunes: "We have worked hard to have these new circumstances within the band. There's a new spirit we feel, pushing us forward into a slightly different and thrilling destination. 'The Crossfire' is our statement against musical boundaries and bigotry. Working with Dan Swan (hail to the king!) was another new piece in the puzzle and it perfectly fits to the aura of our sound. After Leif Jensen (DEW-SCENTED) appeared on the last album 'Bloodred Salvation', we forced female metal icon Sabina Classen (HOLY MOSES, TEMPLE OF THE ABSURD) to be part of the new record...with fantastic result, she has a great and authentic voice. We are really looking forward to the things to come."

In the lead-up to the album's completion, the members of FALL OF SERENITY let cameras into the studio to capture some of the insanity of recording. The result is a four-minute look into the making of "The Crossfire", and a rare glimpse at one of Germany's finest. Watch the footage below.

"The Crossfire" track listing:

01. Immortal Kingdom
02. Knife To Meet You
03. Recreation
04. The Crossfire
05. A Whore Called Freedom
06. Funeral Eclipse
07. Act Of Grace
08. In Case Of Death
09. Blindfolded
10. Blood Portrait

Download the song "The Crossfire" at this location.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email