FANTMAS DVD And Live Album Due In September

July 21, 2011

FANTMAS, the eclectic supergroup featuring Mike Patton (FAITH NO MORE, TOMAHAWK, PEEPING TOM),Buzz Osborne (MELVINS),Trevor Dunn (MR. BUNGLE, MADLOVE) and Dale Crover (MELVINS, SHRINEBUILDER),release "The Director's Cut Live: A New Year's Revolution" on DVD and as a standalone audio download on September 6 via Ipecac Recordings.

Filmed at San Francisco's Great American Music Hall on December 31, 2008, the DVD features audio commentary by comedian Neil Hamburger.

FANTMAS released the studio version of "The Director's Cut" in July of 2001. The album tackles a collection of beloved and eerie film compositions including Nino Rota's "The Godfather", Bernard Herrmann's "Cape Fear" and Jerry Goldsmith's "The Omen (Ave Satani)". Upon its release, Pitchfork said the effort was "as cinematic as its source material" and NME called it "gleeful butchering."

Two songs featured on "The Director's Cut Live: A New Year's Revolution" were not in the original release of "The Director's Cut": Al Green's "Simply Beautiful" and Marc Bolan & T. Rex's "Chariot Choogle".

"The Director's Cut Live: A New Year's Revolution" track listing:

01. The Godfather
02. Night of the Hunter
03. Cape Fear
04. Experiment in Terror
05. One Step Beyond
06. Rosemary's Baby
07. The Devil Rides Out
08. Spider Baby
09. The Omen (Ave Satani)
10. Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer
11. Vendetta
12. Investigation Of A Citizen Above Suspicion
13. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me
14. Der Golem
15. Charade
16. Intermission
17. Simply Beautiful
18. Chariot Choogle

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).