FILTER Mainman Talks 'The Trouble With Angels' In New Audio Interview

July 31, 2010

Rock My Monkey recently conducted an interview with Richard Patrick of U.S. alternative rockers FILTER. The chat is now available for streaming using the audio player below.

FILTER's new video, "The Inevitable Relapse", can be viewed below. Directed by Jesus Rodriquez, the clip explores a slightly dysfunctional relationship intercut with live footage of the band.

"I always wanted to do a video that shows what a healthy addiction looks and feels like, without being some G-rated after-school special," says Patrick.

"The Inevitable Relapse" is the first single off FILTER's fifth studio album, "The Trouble With Angels", which will be released on August 17 via Rocket Science Ventures. Fans of the band's "Short Bus" and "Title of Record" will be ecstatic to hear Richard Patrick return to his industrial roots.

Rocket Science owner Kevin Day says, "I have known Richard for a good while and have been a fan of his music and the FILTER 'sound' since their first release. 'The Trouble With Angels' is exciting because it's a strong return to the sonically dark jet engine growl that FILTER invented and defined."

Produced by Bob Marlette (BLACK SABBATH, ATREYU, SALIVA),the album's debut single, "The Inevitable Relapse", features thundering chords and an isolated bass line that both conjure and modernize FILTER's signature sound.

"People think 'The Inevitable Relapse' is about addiction, consumption, and obsession, but they're wrong," says Richard Patrick. "It's a love song."

FILTER released a limited-edition seven-inch vinyl single, exclusively for the Record Store Day coalition of stores on July 6, featuring "The Inevitable Relapse" album version and a Rob Patterson 666 re-mix on the B-side.

Richard Patrick has taken "Angels" to the next level both lyrically and musically, employing some of the best in the business for the upcoming tour. The live band features Patrick on vocals and guitar, guitarist Rob Patterson (KORN, OTEP),bassist Phil Buckman and longtime FILTER drummer Mika Fineo.

"The Trouble With Angels" track listing:

01. The Inevitable Relapse
02. Drug Boy
03. Absentee Father
04. No Love
05. Fades Like a Photograph (Dead Angel)
06. Down With Me
07. Catch A Falling Knife
08. The Trouble With Angels
09. Clouds
10. No Re-Entry

Richard Patrick interviewed by Rock My Monkey (click on player below to launch audio):

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email