July 23, 2013

Soundcrave Magazine recently conducted an interview with Richard Patrick of the rock act FILTER. You can now watch the chat in three parts below.

FILTER's sixth studio album, "The Sun Comes Out Tonight", was released on June 4 via Wind-Up Records. The CD was recorded in Los Angeles at Blue Room studios with producer Bob Marlette (BLACK SABBATH, ATREYU, SALIVA). The follow-up to 2010's "The Trouble With Angels" was written and recorded by leader Richard Patrick and guitarist Jonny Radtke, as well as collaborator Marlette. There are also performances from touring members Jeff Friedl and Elias Mallin (drums) and Phil Buckman (bass).

"The Sun Comes Out Tonight" track listing:

01. We Hate It When You Get What You Want
02. What Do You Say
03. Surprise
04. Watch The Sun Come Out Tonight
05. It's Got To Be Right Now
06. This Finger's For You
07. Self Inflicted
08. First You Break It
09. Burn It
10. Take That Knife Out Of My Back
11. It's My Time
12. It's Just You

In a recent interview with ABC News Radio, Patrick said that the unique album title was inspired by his former drug use.

"In my lifetime, the sun definitely came out at night," he said. "I'm a recovering drug addict and a recovering alcoholic, but when I was taking drugs, there were a few nights where my blood turned into golden, beautiful sunshine. It was all chemical-based, and I knew it was a lie, but it was completely overwhelming, and it was like the sun had come out at night."

Patrick added that the CD deals with some heavy themes, which mirror issues that he's been forced to confront in his personal life. "Right now, I'm in a dark place," he explained. "I personally have been going through some really intense stuff and it's easy to just sit there and write about betrayal and no one listening, you know, so there's a lot of that on the record."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email