March 12, 2010

Rev. James A. Rota II and Emily Burton of Los Angeles' FIREBALL MINISTRY were interviewed on the March 5-7 edition of Full Metal Jackie's nationally syndicated radio show. The chat is now available for streaming using the audio player below.

To see a full list of stations carrying the program and when it airs, go to

FIREBALL MINISTRY will release its self-titled fourth album on March 16 via Restricted Release. The follow-up to 2005's "Their Rock Is Not Our Rock" marks the group's first release without the support of a traditional label.

After an extended break where outside projects were allowed to flourish — Reverend James A. Rota II (guitar, vocals) with members of CLUTCH and CKY in THE COMPANY BAND and Johny Chow (bass) with Max and Igor Cavalera in CAVALERA CONSPIRACYFIREBALL MINISTRY reconvened with its sights set on a more hands-on approach to its career via Restricted Release.

"A million bands are going through this right now, but we decided to take matters into our own hands," Rota says. "With the new technology available to us, we're able to get our music out in a much more hands-on kind of way."

For its new album, FIREBALL MINISTRY re-teamed with renowned producer/engineer Andrew Alekel (QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, FOO FIGHTERS) — whom they’d previously worked with on 2001's "FMEP" and 2003's "The Second Great Awakening".

"Fireball Ministry" was recorded at Grandmaster in Hollywood, with additional vocals tracked at Dave Grohl's Studio 606 in Northridge.

During the recording process, the foursome shrugged off any preconceived notions. As a result, "Fireball Ministry" is a triumph of will from a band who knows exactly what they are... And exactly what they aren't. "Nobody looked at each other in the practice room and said, 'That riff doesn't sound like FIREBALL,'" explains Rota. "If a song is great, it's great. We wrote the songs we wanted to write and the record glows with this freedom."

The new songs flow effortlessly: the slight rustic twang that opens "Fallen Believers" is as meat and potatoes as it gets with a stomach-punch groove that drops from the speakers when it kicks in. "Butcher, Faker, Policy Maker" pulses with an anthemic verse stronger than most bands' choruses. "Thought it Out" is the best CHEAP TRICK song you haven't heard, filtered through the hard-driving FIREBALL engine.

"Fireball Ministry" track listing:

01. Hard Lines
02. Fallen Believers
03. Thought It Out
04. Followed By a Fall
05. Kick Back
06. Butcher, Faker, Policy Maker
07. End of Story
08. Common Enemy
09. Sleeping With Angels
10. In Their Own Right

Photo Credit: Kat Von D

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email