October 28, 2004

Greek melodic power metal band FIREWIND have signed a worldwide deal with Century Media Records.

FIREWIND's third album, "Forged By Fire", is scheduled for release in Europe on January 24, 2005. The band's previous two albums, "Between Heaven And Hell" (2002) and "Burning Earth" (2003),were recorded for guitarist David T. Chastain's Leviathan label and released in Europe via Massacre Records as well as EMI in Japan.

When asked about signing to Century Media Records, guitarist and band leader Gus G. commented, "FIREWIND was always happy to work with David Chastain and Leviathan, but both the label and band felt that we needed to jump to a bigger level as we feel this third album is our most important one. I personally have been very satisfied working with Century Media in the past with DREAM EVIL and NIGHTRAGE: We have great co-operation and chemistry and they have always believed in my music since day one."

To record "Forged By Fire" the band utilized three different studios (one each in Greece, Germany and Norway) and mixed the album at famous Studio Fredman in Sweden (used also by bands like IN FLAMES, OPETH, HAMMERFALL, THE HAUNTED, etc.) with Gus G.'s former DREAM EVIL bandmate Fredrik Nordström as well as Patrik J. Sten. New to the FIREWIND line-up is the outstanding Sri Lanka native vocalist Chity Somapala (ex-AVALON, also in FARO and MOONLIGHT AGONY),who replaced Stephen Fredrick (ex-KENZINER). Gus G., FIREWIND's founder and guitarist, was until recently the guitarist for labelmates DREAM EVIL but decided to leave the Swedish band to concentrate his energies on FIREWIND. Rounding out the current band's line-up are bassist Petros Christo (ex-BREAKING SILENCE),drummer Stian Kristoffersen (PAGAN'S MIND, JORN LANDE) and keyboard-virtuoso Bob Katsionis (ex-SEPTIC FLESH),who joined the band for their January 2004 headlining Japanese tour with Rob Rock (IMPELLITERI) as support.

"Forged By Fire" track listing:

01. Kill To Live (3:41)
02. Beware The Beast (4:22)
03. Tyranny (3:30)
04. The Forgotten Memory (3:42) [featuring James Murphy]
05. Hate World Hero (5:50)
06. Escape From Tomorrow (3:57)
07. Feast Of The Savages (4:25) [instrumental, feat. Marty Friedman]
08. Burn In Hell (4:37)
09. Perished In Flames (4:51)
10. Land Of Eternity (5:54)
+ Tyranny (video clip enhancement)
+ Making Of/Live Footage (video enhancement)

FIREWIND have recently finished off shooting a video clip for the track "Tyranny", which will be featured as special bonus enhancement on the European version of "Forged By Fire" together with an entertaining 13-minute long "making of/Japan tour" footage section.

Stressing the band's already establishing high profile in Japan, Gus G. has been featured on the front cover of Japan's Young Guitar magazine alongside Alexi Laiho (CHILDREN OF BODOM) and George Lynch (ex-DOKKEN),while FIREWIND were voted fifth "best band" in the readers' poll 2003 in the same publication. Additionally, Gus was voted third "best guitarist" in Burrn! magazine readers' poll 2003 and has not only already released numerous instructional guitar DVDs in Japan through Shinko Music Publishing/Young Guitar but is also currently launching his own signature model guitars through ESP.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email