FLYLEAF To Release 'Remember To Live' In December

On December 7, rock quintet FLYLEAF will release "Remember To Live" (A&M/Octone), a seven-song album featuring new recordings of fan-requested tracks from the band's catalogue. Recorded with Mark Lewis (CHIMAIRA, TRIVIUM, ADRIFT) while on the road during FLYLEAF's "Unite & Fight" tour, "Remember To Live" is a rare collection of tracks that fans have been demanding for years. The record includes a new version of fan favorite "Justice & Mercy" from the 2006 EP "Music as a Weapon" as well as a remix of "Arise" by Ben Moody (WE ARE THE FALLEN, ex-EVANESCENCE).

"Remember To Live" track listing:

01. Amy Says
02. Arise (Ben Moody Mix)
03. Believe In Dreams
04. Dear My Closest Friend
05. Justice & Mercy (Violent Love Version)
06. Light In Your Eyes
07. Okay

FLYLEAF vocalist Lacey Mosley Sturm recently told the Dallas Morning News that she thinks the question of whether the band considers itself "Christian rock" is misunderstood. Sturm explained, "What people want to really know is, are they Christian? I would want to know if they are Christian . . . We are all Christians in our band, and it comes out in our music. We want to be honest. There is sometimes an animosity for Christianity. It's awful that they would judge us based on what they hear and not the music."

Unlike many other so-called Christian bands, FLYLEAF did not come up through the Christian market, where albums are often distributed specifically through religious bookstores. Sturm told The Pulse of Radio that she's fine with that. "What is the Christian market anyway?" she said. "You know, I mean, we play music, if people like it and they want to, you know, they want to support us, then that's amazing, you know. It doesn't matter, you know, if you're Christian or not."

The Texas-born Sturm admitted that at the age of 16, she considered herself an atheist. She struggled through a rough home life, drugs and even thoughts of suicide before her grandmother convinced her to go to church.

Sturm also told the Morning News that being a female singer in the male-dominated rock world is "still an issue," saying, "The rock stations didn't want to play a rock band that was female-fronted. We wanted them to put it on and let the people decide. People loved it. Look at it on the basis of I'm a musician and it's real, not on the basis of being a woman in a rock band."

FLYLEAF is currently on the road behind its 2009 sophomore album, "Memento Mori".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).