FOO FIGHTERS Guitarist CHRIS SHIFLETT To Release 'Hard Lessons' Solo Album In June

March 22, 2019

FOO FIGHTERS guitarist Chris Shiflett will release his fourth solo album, "Hard Lessons", on June 14 via East Beach Records & Tapes/Thirty Tigers.

Produced by Grammy Award-winning Dave Cobb, the disc features 10 new songs, including the lead single "Welcome To Your First Heartache", which can be streamed below.

Ahead of the release, each digital pre-order comes with an immediate download of "Welcome To Your First Heartache" as well as the album track "This Ol' World", which was released earlier this month. Of the music, Rolling Stone praises, "…he fully brings the guitar-slinging pyrotechnics. A lick, a verse and a couple mean solos are all Shiflett needs to make a statement."

Recorded at Nashville's RCA Studio A, the album features Shiflett on electric guitar and Cobb on acoustic guitar as well as an all-star collection of studio musicians, including Chris Powell (Brent Cobb, Jamey Johnson) on drums and percussion, Brian Allen (Jason Isbell, Jamey Johnson) on bass, Michael Webb (Ashley Monroe, ELI YOUNG BAND) on keyboards and Paul Franklin (Vince Gill, DIRE STRAITS) on pedal steel and Kristen Rogers (Anderson East, Lori McKenna) on harmony vocals. The album also features a duet with Elizabeth Cook on "The One You Go Home To" and special guest guitarist Laur "Little Joe" Joamets on "This Ol' World".

Of the album, Shiflett comments: "I remember one night between FOO FIGHTERS gigs last year I went out for dinner with Dave Cobb to chit chat about making this record. He said he had a vision of me playing through an old Marshall JCM-800. So, when it came time to record, we found one on Craigslist, cranked it up and it was perfect.

"I think this record hits a little closer to mixing everywhere I've been musically into one big blender and comes out something a little different.

"Since it was my second time working with Cobb and Co. out there at RCA Studio A, I kind of knew what to expect as far as his process, so I intentionally didn't overthink or over-demo the songs because I didn't want to get too stuck on any ideas I brought with me. I couldn't be more excited about the results."

After recently wrapping tours with Cook, BLACKBERRY SMOKE and Kendell Marvel, Shiflett will travel to Europe later this month for a series of sold-out shows across the U.K., Norway, Denmark and Sweden. Additional North American spring/summer tour dates to be announced soon.

"Hard Lessons" is Shiflett's fourth solo album and the second in collaboration with Cobb, who produced 2017's widely praised "West Coast Town".

Born in Santa Barbara and now based in Los Angeles, Shiflett is widely known as the guitarist for the FOO FIGHTERS as well as for his previous work with DEAD PEASANTS and NO USE FOR A NAME. In addition to his work as a musician, Shiflett is the creator and host of the biweekly podcast "Walking The Floor With Chris Shiflett", which Entertainment Weekly named one of "the best podcasts of 2018" stating, "The lively, genial, and deeply knowledgeable host puts his musician guests — from critical favorites to superstars, and ranging from country to punk — at ease, allowing them to expound on everything from inspiration to gearhead talk. A must for fans actually interested in hearing about the music." Past guests include Merle Haggard, Dwight Yoakam, Chris Stapleton, Sheryl Crow, Mike Ness, Steve Earle, John Doe, Sturgill Simpson, Lee Ann Womack, Vince Gill and more.

"Hard Lessons" track listing:

01. Liar's Word
02. This Ol' World
03. Welcome To Your First Heartache
04. The Hardest Lessons
05. The One You Go Home To (feat. Elizabeth Cook)
06. Fool's Gold
07. I Thought You'd Never Leave
08. Weak Heart
09. Marfa On My Mind
10. Leaving Again

Find more on Foo fighters
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).