Former HANOI ROCKS Bassist SAMI YAFFA To Release Debut Solo Album

June 2, 2021

Sami Yaffa, best known for his work with NEW YORK DOLLS, Michael Monroe and HANOI ROCKS, will release his first solo album, "The Innermost Journey To Your Outermost Mind", on September 22, 2021. The first single, "The Last Time", will be released on June 11 via Livewire/Cargo Records.

"'The Last Time' is one of the first songs I wrote for this album when still living in Brooklyn, New York back in 2015," Yaffa said. "It's a story about two people whose communication is stuck. How hard it is to change one's habits, no matter how much one wants it. It's about the frustration and distress of addiction."

Recording lineup:

* Sami Yaffa (HANOI ROCKS, MICHAEL MONROE, NEW YORK DOLLS) - Vocals, Bass Guitar
* Rich Jones (MICHAEL MONROE) - Guitar
* Christian Martucci (STONE SOUR) - Guitar
* Rane Raitsikka (SMACK) - Guitar
* Janne Haavisto - Drums

Yaffa has had a unique career as a musician. He joined the punk band PELLE MILJOONA OY at the tender age of 16 and played on the bands now-legendary album "Moottoritie On Kuuma". PELLE MILJOONA OY was Finland's number one band at the time, but Yaffa and his future cohorts were aiming higher: as an original member of the band HANOI ROCKS, he spent the first half of the 1980s as an international rock musician with all its ups, downs and trappings. The band influenced many of the acts that would later become huge in the world of rock and roll — including GUNS N' ROSES.

After the breakup of HANOI ROCKS, Yaffa was asked to join some of the most notable artists in rock and roll history, such as JOAN JETT AND THE BLACKHEARTS (2002-2004),as well as one of HANOI ROCKS' major influences, the NEW YORK DOLLS (2004-2010). In 2009, he started a band with HANOI ROCKS singer Michael Monroe. This collaboration continues to this day, but now Yaffa is also releasing music under his own name.

"The idea for the solo album started to take shape a few years back," Sami said. "Previously I had written music for the NEW YORK DOLLS and the Michael Monroe band, but now some of the songs that I was writing and had written, started to sound more and more like my own stuff instead of what I would write for those bands."

What kind of music does Yaffa release under his own name then? Versatile. "I've always loved bands like THE CLASH and ROLLING STONES," he said. "They could write country, funk, reggae, rock 'n' roll or jazz without fear and make it their own. I wanted to have that same kind of versatility and freedom for my own record."

The album has wide influences, but that is hardly surprising to those who have followed Yaffa's career: in addition to his own musical career, he has been getting to know the musical traditions from different parts of the world as the host and co-creator for the "Sami Yaffa: Sound Tracker" TV series. "However, my roots are deeply in punk and rock 'n' roll," he said. "I don't shy away from that.”

Even though it's a solo record, Sami has always been a member of bands and because of that, a team player. Yaffa mentions a couple of names without whom the record would not have come to completion — at least the way it finally became. The first to mention is a childhood friend, drummer Janne Haavisto with whom Sami made his first forays into the world of music. Sami and Janne created the basic tracks together and invited valued friends and musicians to collaborate on the album. Rich Jones, the guitarist from the Michael Monroe band helped pull together a lot of the songs lyrically, Christian Martucci from the band STONE SOUR played guitar on half of the album, the other half was played by another old friend Rane from the cult band SMACK and Sami's old bro from the HANOI days, Timo Kaltio.

Find more on Hanoi rocks
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).