Former PANTERA Members To Release New Album In January

October 15, 2003

The band formerly known as NEW FOUND POWER, which features in its ranks guitarist Dimebag Darrell (ex-PANTERA),Dimebag's drummer brother Vinnie Paul (ex-PANTERA),DIESEL MACHINE/ex-HALFORD guitarist Patrick Lachman (on vocals) and ex-JERRY CANTRELL guitarist Shawn Matthews (on bass),will be releasing their debut album through Elektra Records in January. "[NEW FOUND POWER] was a working title, and the official [band] name will be announced shortly," Lachman revealed in a recent e-mail.

Musically, the material "picks up where PANTERA left off and there is a lot more depth and dynamics to it," Patrick explained. "Vocals are everything from brutal to just pure melodic hook, but no falsetto."

As previously reported, the much-anticipated effort will include a guest appearance by SLIPKNOT/STONE SOUR frontman Corey Taylor in a track called "Fuck You". OZZY OSBOURNE/BLACK LABEL SOCIETY axeman Zakk Wylde is also said to have contributed backing vocals and a guitar solo to the album.

(Thanks: Ian Ray)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email