Former STRATOVARIUS Singer TIMO KOTIPELTO: New Single Details Revealed

February 13, 2004

Former STRATOVARIUS singer Timo Kotipelto will release his new single, "Reasons", in mid-March.

The single will include the following tracks:

01. Reasons
02. Seeds of Sorrow
03. Vizier (extended version)

The first two songs are taken from KOTIPELTO's new album, "Coldness", while "Vizier" comes off the singer's solo debut, "Waiting for the Dawn". This previously unreleased version of "Vizier" contains a long guitar solo by SYMPHONY X guitarist Mike Romeo (on the album it was cut in half).

Timo Kotipelto's second solo album, "Coldness", is due this spring through Century Media Records.

Joining Timo during the recording sessions for the follow-up to 2002's "Waiting For The Dawn" (which was issued under the KOTIPELTO banner) were the following world-class musicians:

Janne Wirman (CHILDREN OF BODOM - keyboards)
Jari Kainulainen (STRATOVARIUS - bass)
Mike Romeo (SYMPHONY X - guitars)
Juhani Malmberg (TUNNELVISION - guitars)

"Coldness" track listing:

01. Seeds Of Sorrow
02. Reasons
03. Around
04. Can You Hear The Sound
05. Snowbound
06. Journey Back
07. Evening's Fall
08. Coldness Of My Mind
09. Take Me Away
10. Here We Are

The recording sessions for "Coldness" were completed this fall/winter under the production guidance of Kotipelto. Mikko Karmila mixed the effort at Finnvox studios in Helsinki.

Kotipelto has described the musical direction of the new CD as "traditional heavy metal — not power metal or something like that. I also sing slightly differently compared to the way I did on the STRATOVARIUS albums. On my new album, my voice doesn't reach falsetto [levels]."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).