GALLOWS: Trailer For Upcoming Documentary Released

A trailer for GALLOWS' upcoming documentary can be seen below.

Set for release on September 10 through the band's own label Venn Records (in partnership with [PIAS] Recordings), GALLOWS' third and self-titled album proves that their reputation as the U.K.'s most notorious and exciting punk band will not be changing any time soon. Recorded, produced, mixed and mastered by long-term friends Thomas Mitchener and Steve Sears at Broadfields Studio in Watford in May this year, it is, say the band "our statement of intent, our laugh in the face of those who said GALLOWS were done when in reality we're just warming up," they continue. "We couldn't feel more vindicated and proud."

One of the album's many standout tracks, "Outsider Art", will be released as a single on October 1. The song's official video can be seen below.

"I've spent the last 10 years of my life getting lost on the road," explains frontman Wade MacNeil. "There's some dark stories to tell. 'Outsider Art' is just one of them."

A classic GALLOWS track through and through, it retains all of the band's power and aggression but at the same time leaves their ability to pen a distinctive melody intact.

A special edition version of the album will also include a DVD documentary that provides a fascinating and often hilarious insight into the world of GALLOWS over the last few months.

GALLOWS has also announced that it will play a special record release launch at The Fighting Cocks in Kingston on September 9 and has added a second night to The Underworld in Camden, now playing on both October 19 and October 20.

"Gallows" track listing:

01. Victim Culture
02. Everybody Loves You (When You're Dead)
03. Last June
04. Outsider Art
05. Vapid Adolescent Blues
06. Austere
07. Depravers
08. Odessa
09. Nations
- Never Enough -
10. Cult Of Mary
11. Cross Of Lorraine

A trailer for the album can be seen below.

GALLOWS is a band that needs little introduction. Described, variously, as "the best British punk band since THE CLASH" and "the British music industry's biggest mistake," the Hertfordshire hardcore crew first emerged from the fecund U.K. underground punk scene in 2005. Inspired by REFUSED, AT THE DRIVE-IN, JR Ewing and Swing Kids, their ferocious, feral 2006 debut, "Orchestra Of Wolves", offered a harsh, unflinching dissection of suffocating suburban mores, shot through with images of small-town violence, desperation and disgust. Its follow-up, 2009's apocalyptic "Grey Britain", was darker, denser and even more brutally incisive, a lacerating, none-more-bleak state of the nation address, speaking of a once-proud nation on its knees, riven by prejudice, greed, ignorance and fear. December 2011's "Death Is Birth" EP heralded the arrival of a new GALLOWS: united, uncompromised, unfettered, unbroken. With old friend (and former ALEXISONFIRE guitarist) Wade MacNeil installed as the band's new frontman, the seven-inch EP was a defiant declaration of independence, 459 seconds of apoplectic punk rock fury landing like an adrenaline spike to the heart.


Wade MacNeil (vocals)
Lee Barratt (drums)
Stephen Carter (guitar)
Laurent Barnard (guitar)
Stuart Gili-Ross (bass)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).