GEORGE LYNCH Writing Material For New SOULS OF WE Album

February 8, 2010

SOULS OF WE — the band featuring legendary guitarist George Lynch (DOKKEN, LYNCH MOB) and vocalist London Legrand (SOULS OF WE, BRIDES OF DESTRUCTION) — has commenced the songwriting sessions for the group's second album. Lynch writes on his Twitter profile, "Second day of writing for new SOULS OF WE record [on Monday, February 7]. In studio later this month, guerilla style, then we hit the road March 5th."

SOULS OF WE released its debut album, "Let The Truth Be Known", in early 2008.

Lynch and Legrand came together by a chance meeting on Melrose in Hollywood. "Back when George was putting together LYNCH MOB, I read in a magazine that he was looking for a singer," explained Legrand. "I made a homemade audition tape on my jam box and sent it to his manager, but I never got a call back. Anyway, years later I'm standing on Melrose Avenue in Hollywood and I see George. I decided I didn't have anything to lose, so I walked up to him and said, 'How come you never got back to me on that tape?' He looked confused at first and then started laughing. We hit it off immediately and he invited me to come check out a new batch of songs he was working on. He gave me a tape of music, and that night I went home and finished three songs."

Rounding out SOULS OF WE's recording lineup was powerhouse drummer Yael (TOM MORELLO, ALEX SKOLNICK) and bassist Johny Chow.

Lynch and Legrand originally started crafting the songs that would ultimately make up "Let The Truth Be Known" five years ago. However, the project was temporarily put on hold for a couple of years while Lynch worked on various projects and Legrand joined BRIDES OF DESTRUCTION, the band featuring Nikki Sixx of MÖTLEY CRÜE and Tracii Guns from L.A. GUNS. After the BRIDES split, Legrand and Lynch rekindled their partnership and finished work on their most ambitious project yet.

"Let The Truth Be Known" was self-produced in various studios around Los Angeles and mixed by Mudrock (AVENGED SEVENFOLD, GODSMACK). The record features several guest musicians including, drummer Morgan Rose (SEVENDUST) and bassist Fred Leclercq (DRAGONFORCE). "We went in to this project with no funding, no label, no producer and no band," explained Lynch. "We were just doing demos and making the music that we wanted to make. There was no one looking over our shoulders and no deadlines."

Check out audio samples at

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email