GIRLSCHOOL: 'Take It Like A Band' Lyric Video

November 5, 2015

Legendary all-girl British hard rockers GIRLSCHOOL will release their 13th studio album, "Guilty As Sin", on November 13 in North America via UDR Music in red colored vinyl, digital download and a deluxe ecolbook formats.

"Guilty As Sin" track listing:

01. Come The Revolution
02. Take It Like A Band
03. Guilty As Sin
04. Treasure
05. Awkward Position
06. Staying Alive (BEE GEES cover)
07. Perfect Storm
08. Painful
09. Night Before
10. Everybody Loves (Saturday Night)
11. Coming Your Way (bonus track) *
12. Tonight (bonus track)

* only available on limited edition and digital album

The official lyric video for the song "Take It Like A Band" can be seen below.

Produced by Chris Tsangarides (JUDAS PRIEST, THIN LIZZY) at the Ecology Room Studios in Kent, England, "Guilty As Sin" includes ten tracks of the driven, melodic yet gloriously riff-heavy rock'n'roll that Kim McAuliffe (vocals and guitar),Enid Williams (vocals and bass),Jackie Chambers (lead guitar and backing vocals) and Denise Dufort (drums) are world famous for.

Featuring raw, energetic, killer cuts such as "Take It Like A Band", "Treasure" and "Come The Revolution", "Guilty As Sin" is soaked in the late-night spills 'n' sweat of beer, cigarettes, denim and leather — a timeless evocation of how it feels to throw away all life's B.S. and get down'n'dirty with loud, crunchy yet catchy rock 'n' roll. There's also time for two storming cover songs (including the superb, swaggering rock version of THE BEE GEES' '70s disco classic "Stayin' Alive").

Speaking to rock journalist Mitch Lafon about the songwriting process for "Guilty As Sin", Williams said: "There are three main writers in the band, and we all wanna put our material on the album, which is great, because it makes you up your ante and you wanna do your very best. So we're all kind of working hard to get tracks that we love on [there]."

She continued: "To be very general, Kim tends to like… real, just the heart of GIRLSCHOOL. So on the album, there's quite a few tracks that she's written with Jackie, and some of them are real fast, double-bass-drum kind of tracks that you would associate with the early part of GIRLSCHOOL. And then there's always a few tracks that are kind of rock and roll, really. Again, Kim loves authentic… She likes to keep recreating, but really staying with how GIRLSCHOOL is, as she understands it, whereas I'm always much more experimental. And I keep reining it in a little bit, but I'm always the one that wants to try to push new boundaries. So I've written a couple of songs by myself and a couple with Jackie. They're still GIRLSCHOOL, because we're still playing them and it's still one or two of the writers of GIRLSCHOOL, but they're not necessarily exactly what you would expect."

Enid added: "The way that it all came together, the producer was quite ill, and we really got things going quite late in the day. And so we went back over the stuff we'd done in the past. And we had a few ideas that we'd been knocking around. We thought, 'Hold on. Let's give this a go.' I had a set of lyrics from the past. And we threw all this stuff together, and what we've come up with is really… It's very much a classic rock album, but covering a whole… almost a history of rock music that we've loved, really.

"It's hard to compare things, but some of heads-down rock and roll might have a touch of AC/DC or ZZ TOP or whatever, and as soon as you've got double-bass drums, it's back to the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal. But then there's a few songs, like a slower, not-quite ballad, but we don't generally do slower songs. And the odd hint of Iggy Pop or [David] Bowie in there. It's almost like a homage to the rock music that we've loved and have touched upon over the decades all coming together. But we didn't sit down and make that plan. But, like I said, because of having three different writers with three different… We like a lot of the same music, but, as I said, I tend to go left field, and Kim likes to find new ways of doing what is GIRLSCHOOL as understood by most people.

"We go for what excites us, what we're passionate about. And I think it's quite good to have a mix of stuff. But it's always with GIRLSCHOOL at its core."


Find more on Girlschool
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).