GLENN HUGHES: 'First Underground Nuclear Kitchen' Details Revealed; Samples Available

March 12, 2008

Frontiers Records has revealed more information about the highly anticipated new GLENN HUGHES album, entitled "First Underground Nuclear Kitchen (F.U.N.K.)", which is scheduled for release on May 11.

Produced by Glenn in Los Angeles, after countless hours spent writing in his home studio, "F.U.N.K." is another magnificent statement from the "Voice of Rock." "It is a roots album, it is a true account of my musical heritage but also fearless and multi-dimensional," says Hughes.

Once again Glenn has reinvented himself and his art, being able to offer a new album which is truly emotional and picturing his own current way to speak the language of music.

"The beauty of makin' music, for me", explains the former DEEP PURPLE and singer and bassist, "is to have a vast blank canvas. To completely open myself up to the universe and the spirits, that these days, live with me day and night. I am no longer in fear of the dark, or what lurks behind door number 13. The songs on my new album were written in, and around my Los Angeles home, sometimes in semi-consciousness... sometimes, in a dreamstate, sometimes fully alert, as I was in full jog down by the harbour... these new songs are a true vindication. And realization, of the gift of a serene life, one day at a time".

The result is a brilliant balance of the diverse influences that have always been present in Glenn's music, but with an incredible and very addictive mood that helps creating a feeling of joy and true enjoyment all over the album. "I believe that the hard work has been worth waitin' for, this is for all my fans, and beyond: a deep musical statement," concludes Glenn.

Once again all drums on the record were played by none other than the great Chad Smith of the RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, while Luis Maldonado took care of the majority of the guitars (JJ Marsh and George Nastos only appear on two songs each) and Anders Olinder is on keyboards (with Ed Roth guesting on three songs).

"F.U.N.K." track listing:

01. Crave
02. First Underground Nuclear Kitchen
03. Satellite
04. Love Communion
05. We Shall Be Free, Imperfection
06. Never Say Never
07. We Go To War
08. Oil And Water
09. Too Late to Save the World
10. Where There's A Will

Check out audio samples at this location.

Glenn has just finished shooting a promo video for the fist single, "Love Communion", which will be included on the CD as a special bonus.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).