GLYDER: New Album Details Revealed

April 12, 2011

Irish rockers GLYDER will enter the studio on April 18 to begin recording their fourth album, "Backroads To Byzantium", for a September release via SPV/Steamhammer.

Regarding the new CD title, guitarist Bat Kinane said, "We settled on 'Motions Of Time' as an album title a few weeks back for the fourth GLYDER album but it just wasn't feeling right, so after much thought, the [new] title came to me.

"A few months back, I was thinking along the lines of the Yeats poem 'Sailing To Byzantium' as the new album has an underling theme of a journey and my slant on it was 'Backroads To Byzantium'.

"I'm sure you are familiar with the Yeats poem, but the theme is the desire for escape from the hardships of this world and the quest for immortality. Byzantium is that place in Yeats poem, I see us in that quest on a different level and also taking a different route to this place as we are not mainstream, therefore the backroads as opposed to the main road."

On the topic of the songwriting process for the new record, Kinane said, "It all really kicked off first week in January. As Jackie Robinson, our new vocalist, is from Northern Ireland, it wasn't practical to meet up every week for writing and rehearsals, so we worked over email using digital audio recording. We bounced ideas and tracks around back and forward until we achieved the results we wanted. Pete [Fisher] and I would make a backing track of guitar, bass and a drum program and Jackie would add his vocals at his home and email them back. Des and Graham, the new rhythm section, have been working closely with Pete and myself and we are tightening up the arrangements and getting them ready to record."

"Backroads To Byzantium" tentative track listing:

01. Even If I Don't Know Where I'm Gonna Go
02. Two Wrongs
03. Fade To Dust
04. Don't Make Their Mistakes
05. Something She Knows
06. Chronicled Deceit
07. Long Gone
08. End Of The Line
09. Down And Out
10. Motions Of Time

GLYDER 2011 is:

Jackie Robinson - Vocals
Bat Kinane - Guitar, Vocals
Peter Fisher - Guitar
Graham McClatchie - Bass
Des McEvoy - Drums

Two tracks featuring the new lineup are available for free download at this location.

Bat Kinane released a new solo album, "A Lifetime To Kill", in Ireland on October 1, 2010. The set can be purchased via PayPal from

GLYDER's third album, "Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow", came out on April 26, 2010 via SPV/Steamhammer. The CD featured stunning Mark Wilkinson artwork and a guest solo on the title track by one of rock's finest guitarists, Dave Menketti from Y&T.

GLYDER began its musical journey in 2004 at the annual Phil Lynott tribute gig "Vibe for Philo" in Dublin. Three albums and two EPs later, GLYDER had developed a very distinguishableand unique sound, blending its classic rock influences with a fresh and modern sound.

Over the past five years, GLYDER has toured Europe with some of the finest names in rock, including THIN LIZZY, WISHBONE ASH, DIO, W.A.S.P., THUNDER, FISH, Y&T, MICHAEL SCHENKER, HAWKWIND, GOTTHARD, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT and THE ANSWER. In 2007 they played at Gods of Metal in Italy with MÖTLEY CRÜE and VELVET REVOLVER, Sweden Rock Festival in 2008 with DEF LEPPARD and WHITESNAKE, Raismes festival in France 2008 with SAXON and ULI JOHN ROTH and Hard Rock Hell 2 in Wales 2008 with THIN LIZZY. GLYDER played its first headline tour in Spain in 2008 and headlined to 10,000 rock fans in India in October 2008 proving that it can win over any audience in any live situation.

In August 2009 GLYDER opened for METALLICA in Marlay Park Dublin.

For more information, visit

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).