GODSMACK: 'Cryin' Like A Bitch' Video Released

April 15, 2010

"Cryin' Like A Bitch", the new video from GODSMACK, can be viewed below. The Mixed Martial Arts-driven clip features UFC (Ultimate Fighting Championship) champions Chuck Liddell, Rashad Evans, Brock Lesner, BJ Penn, and Matt Hughes brutally knocking out the competition and showcasing their raw strength while GODSMACK performs the aggressive rock anthem in a warehouse.

GODSMACK frontman Sully Erna admitted in a recent webisode for the band's upcoming fifth studio album, "The Oracle", that "Cryin' Like A Bitch" was inspired by events of last summer's Crüe Fest 2 tour, on which GODSMACK appeared alongside headliners MÖTLEY CRÜE. Sully told Artisan News Service at the time, "There's definitely been some rock-star garbage on this tour that we just have never seen in our career . . . this was the first time that I felt like, 'You know what?! If there's gonna be some people that are gonna treat other people a certain way, then I'm gonna go out there every night and . . . make sure that we make you look old and fat, and go home with a nice big fat paycheck."

According to HardDrive Radio, Erna intended the song as a slam on MÖTLEY CRÜE bassist Nikki Sixx, although that has yet to be officially confirmed by anyone in the GODSMACK camp.

Samples of some of the lyrics on "Cryin' Like A Bitch" include lines like: "Strut on by like a king/Telling everybody they know nothing/Long lived what you thought you were/Time ain't on your side anymore"

Due on May 4, "The Oracle" is the band's first studio album since 2006's "IV", another platinum-plus trailblazer for the group, debuting at #1 on The Billboard 200 chart (their second #1 debut following 2003's "Faceless") and harking back to the signature sound of multiplatinum masterpieces like their five-million-selling breakthrough debut album and 2000's "Awake". GODSMACK's most recent album release was 2007's acclaimed greatest-hits package, "Good Times Bad Times....Ten Years of Godsmack", delivered to fans at the end of 2007.

Produced by frontman Sully Erna and Dave Fortman, who has worked with MUDVAYNE and EVANESCENCE, among others, "The Oracle" is another lyrical and musical touchstone for the four-member band. The new album revels in GODSMACK's scorching underpinnings, served up via Erna's monster vocals on "Cryin' Like A Bitch" and other songs, including "Saints And Sinners", "War And Peace" and "Love, Hate, Sex, Pain".

Picking up where they left off with last year's live triumph, the group has mapped out a rigorous spring 2010 live rollout, centered around the May 4 release of "The Oracle". GODSMACK has been chosen to headline the fourth annual installment of the popular Rock On The Range festival, to be held in Columbus, Ohio's, Columbus Crew Stadium on May 22-23. GODSMACK will lead a 37-band charge for the two-day hard rock event, which also includes ROB ZOMBIE, THREE DAYS GRACE, LIMP BIZKIT, RISE AGAINST, and others. GODSMACK is also gearing up for a slew of other May live festivals, including Edgefest VI at the Arkansas State Fairgrounds on May 8, Iowa radio station 89.7's Rockfest in Council Bluffs, Iowa on May 14, the 2010 Lazerfest at Indianola Balloon Grounds in Indianola, Iowa on May 16, and this year's Rocklahoma festival held during Memorial Day weekend in Pryor, Oklahoma.

"The Oracle" track listing:

01. Cryin' Like a Bitch
02. Saints and Sinners
03. War and Peace
04. Love Hate Sex Pain
05. What If?
06. Devil's Swing
07. Good Day to Die
08. Forever Shamed
09. Shadow of a Soul
10. The Oracle

"Love Hate Sex Pain" audio stream:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email