GOJIRA Frontman Talks About 'Vacuity' Video

Guitarist/vocalist Joseph Duplantier of the French progressive metallers GOJIRA recently spoke to the UK's Rock Sound magazine about the band's new video for the track "Vacuity".

"The video will be on the frontpage of MySpace in a few days," he said. ''It is a fantastic mind-blowing video. The song is about the Buddhist meaning of the word which is emptiness not nothingness, the ultimate presence. It was very hard to picture that concept in a video so we told the story of a girl carrying her own casket as the whole album is about facing your death and your pain. It seemed fitting."

The video was helmed by French producers Julien Mokrani and Samuel Bodin of Six Pieds Sous Terre Productions. The location of the shoot was in the Basque country where GOJIRA resides.

Main actress Claire Theodoly has studied theatre for many years and is currently rehearsing a main role in a play called "Le Jeu de l'Amour et du Hasard (Marivaux)" at the Centre Dramatique in Tours (France).

The "Vacuity" clip was shot with a RED Digital Cinema video camera such as the one used in Peter Jackson's "Lord of the Rings" movies. It will debut on October 6.

Check out photos from the video shoot below.

In a recent interview with Metal Hammer magazine, Joseph Duplantier stated about the track, "Vacuity. Absence of matter, emptiness, but full of light. Ultimate presence beyond the notions of our world. Vacuity is the source and not just 'nothingness.' We live in a world that goes faster every day and it seems there's a lack of time for each one of us. This song is about taking the time and being closer to the heart."

GOJIRA's new album, "The Way of All Flesh", is scheduled for release on October 13 in Europe via Listenable Records and one day later in the U.S. through Prosthetic Records. The cover artwork (see below) was created by Joe Duplantier, who was also responsible for the artwork for GOJIRA's previous album, 2005's "From Mars to Sirius".

"The Way Of All Flesh" track listing:

01. Oroborus
02. Toxic Garbage Island
03. A Sight To Behold
04. Yama's Messengers
05. The Silver Cord
06. Adoration For None
07. All The Tears
08. The Art Of Dying
09. Esoteric Surgery
10. Vacuity
11. Wolf Down The Earth
12. The Way Of All Flesh


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).