GORGOROTH's PEST Replaces GAAHL's Vocals On 'True Norwegian Black Metal' Album

Norwegian black metallers GORGOROTH recently spent time at Threeman Recordings in Stockholm with producer Nico Elgstrand (ENTOMBED). During the sessions, GORGOROTH frontman Pest replaced Gaahl's vocals for the "True Norwegian Black Metal - Live in Grieghallen" album, which was originally released in June 2008 via Regain Records. According to a posting on the group's web site, GORGOROTH mainman Infernus (guitar) "has already consulted legal representatives regarding this album, and is prepared to support Regain Records in the label's ongoing legal conflict with two of the band's ex-members, if any such support is needed."

The recording of GORGOROTH's new studio album "Quantos Possunt ad Satanitatem Trahunt" is proceeding on schedule, with a tentative October 2009 release date. The album will be made available via Sweden's Regain Records.

The 2009 incarnation of GORGOROTH consists of Pest (vocals), Infernus (guitar), Tormentor (guitars), Frank Watkins (bass) and Tomas Asklund (drums).

Infernus recently won a court battle against vocalist Gaahl and bassist King ov Hell over the rights to the GORGOROTH band name. According to a posting on Infernus' MySpace page, "The court has decided that King ov Hell's trademark registration of the band name GORGOROTH is NOT valid and shall therefore be deleted. The court states that King ov Hell and Gaahl excluded themselves from the band GORGOROTH when they tried to fire Infernus in October 2007. The court further states that Infernus cannot be excluded from GORGOROTH, unless he himself decides to quit."

Infernus filed a lawsuit against King ov Hell in September 2008 claiming that King (the sixth bass player in GORGOROTH's history) went behind his back in September 2007 and secretly applied for trademark protection of the GORGOROTH bandname and logo, which Infernus had been using since 1992.

"Live in Grieghallen" was recorded live at Grieghallen in Bergen, Norway by Eirik "Pytten" Hundvin and features Infernus on bass and guitar, Gaahl on vocals, and Garghuf on drums.

"Live in Grieghallen" was mixed and mastered by Nico Elgstrand (ENTOMBED) and features all the GORGOROTH "essential songs" from the band's back catalog performed live.

"Live in Grieghallen" track listing:

01. Bergtrollets Hevn
02. Destroyer
03. The Rite of Infernal Invocation
04. Forces of Satan Storms
05. Possessed (by Satan)
06. Unchain My Heart!!!
07. Profetens Ă…penbaring
08. Revelation of Doom

Recording lineup:

Infernus - Guitar, Bass
Gaahl - Vocals
Teloch - Session Guitar
Garghuf - Session Drums

Album info:

All music and lyrics by Infernus, except track 1 (lyrics by Hat), track 2 (music by Tormentor) and track 4 (music by King). Recorded live in studio in 2007/2008. Engineered by Pytten at Grieghallen Studios in Bergen and Nico Elgstrand at Threeman Recordings in Stockholm. All bass re-recorded by Infernus at Threeman Recordings. Mixed by Nico Elgstrand. Mastered at Cutting Room in Stockholm by Infernus and Mats Lindfors. Cover design by Magnus Wolfhart.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).