GRAVE DIGGER: 'The Power Of Metal' Lyric Video

September 14, 2018

The official lyric video for the song "The Power Of Metal" from veteran German metallers GRAVE DIGGER can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's new album, "The Living Dead", which is being released on September 14 via Napalm Records.

GRAVE DIGGER frontman Chris Boltendahl commented on the new single: "It's a song about metal, about a life in the underground, about a life which is different."

He continued: "To be a metalhead is the greatest gift on earth — from the day you heard the first notes of a JUDAS PRIEST or IRON MAIDEN song, you're addicted to this kind of music. The love and passion for metal makes you to a special person and the power of metal can heal. It makes you stronger and gives you a better life."

"The Living Dead" track listing:

01. Fear Of The Living Dead
02. Blade Of The Immortal
03. When Death Passes By
04. Shadow Of The Warrior
05. The Power Of Metal
06. Hymn Of The Damned
07. What War Left Behind
08. Fist In Your Face
09. Insane Pain
10. Zombie Dance
11. Glory Or Grave (bonus track)

The cover artwork can be seen below.

Boltendahl told Metal Obsession about "The Living Dead": "I'm really happy about this album, because when we finished 'Healed By Metal' [2017], I thought [to] myself, 'Okay, I'm now three albums in a row, which is more or less classical GRAVE DIGGER stuff. But now, I want to look over the plate, and look a little bit left or right. When I talked to Axel Ritt [guitar] before we were creating the new album, I said to him, 'Hey, Axel, I need some visions.' He said, 'What? You need visions?' 'Yes. I need visions from you, so, send me all of your stuff you have in your mind, and then, we sort out what is interesting, whatnot, and meanwhile, I'll create some cool choruses, and everything.'"

Speaking about his songwriting partnership with Ritt: "I'm writing the lyrics, and normally, I'm writing all the melodies for the choruses, for the verses, and then, I tell [Ritt] the ideas. Then we start creating all the guitar around it. But, then, most of, I think, 90 percent of the guitar work is definitely from Axel, but he's following most of my advice. That is a good combination; that is something like metal twins can do."

A headlining tour, dubbed "Tour Of The Living Dead", will launch in Hannover, Germany on January 11, 2019 and finish in Tel Aviv, Israel on February 9, 2019. Support on the trek will come from BURNING WITCHES.


Chris Boltendahl - Vocals
Axel Ritt - Guitar
Jens Becker - Bass
Stefan Arnold - Drums
Marcus Kniep - Keyboards

Find more on Grave digger
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).