GREAT WHITE's Vintage Demo Recordings To Be Made Available On 'The Roots Of Great White 1978-1982' CD

October 23, 2019

The story of hard rock icons GREAT WHITE, best known for their smash hit singles "Once Bitten, Twice Shy" and "Rock Me", begins with the meeting of vocalist Jack Russell and guitarist Mark Kendall. The partnership between these two extraordinarily talented artists would go on to produce multiple platinum-selling albums and made GREAT WHITE one of the most fearsome rock outfits to launch out of California's '80s metal powder keg. But before Russell and Kendall formed GREAT WHITE, they first came together as DANTE FOX, a short-lived, hard-chargin' band of young upstarts who banged out original songs written by Russell and Kendall. And now for the first time ever, these early demos are being released to fans and collectors alike on the compilation "The Roots Of Great White 1978-1982", available on both CD and limited-edition blue vinyl courtesy of Deadline Music, a division of Cleopatra Records, Inc.

This excellent compilation includes songs that would eventually find their way on to GREAT WHITE's 1984 self-titled debut album such as "In Love" (later re-written as "On Your Knees") and "Money" (later rewritten as "Stick It"). As Russell himself notes: "Although roughly recorded on eigfht-track tape, the listener will get a glimpse of what was to come. They represent the birth of the band that later became GREAT WHITE."

"The Roots Of Great White 1978-1982"will be available everywhere records are sold starting October 25.

Track listing:

01. In Love
02. Last Time
03. Motor Love
04. Money
05. Head Over Heels
06. There's No Way
07. Front Row Girl
08. The Strike
09. Bead In The Rain
10. Lonnie Never Lied
11. Stay Away
12. Need Your Love
13. On The Run
14. She's Got Fever
15. Calling You
16. Space Age Rock
17. The Blues

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).