GUNS N' ROSES' 'Appetite For Destruction' Returns To Billboard Top 10 After More Than 29 Years

July 8, 2018

According to Billboard, GUNS N' ROSES' classic 1987 debut album, "Appetite For Destruction", has returned to the top 10 on the Billboard 200 chart after more than 29 years. The LP re-entered the chart at No. 10, following its "Locked N' Loaded" box reissue on June 29.

For tracking and charting purposes, all versions of "Appetite For Destruction" are combined, and in the week ending July 5, the album sold 33,000 equivalent units.

The Billboard 200 chart ranks the most popular albums of the week in the U.S. based on multi-metric consumption as measured in equivalent album units. Units are comprised of traditional album sales, track equivalent albums (TEA) and streaming equivalent albums (SEA). As of this week, each unit equals one traditional album sale, or 10 individual tracks sold from one album (a TEA unit),or 1,250 paid subscription on-demand audio song streams from an album, or 3,750 ad-supported on-demand audio song streams from an album (an SEA unit).

The "Appetite For Destruction: Locked N' Loaded" box is the one true GN'R Holy Grail. The box includes the Super Deluxe Edition with four CDs featuring the album newly remastered for the first time ever; "B-sides N' EPs" newly remastered; the previously unreleased 1986 Sound City Session N' More recordings; a Blu-ray Audio disc with the album, bonus tracks and music videos in brand new 5.1 surround sound along with the unearthed music video for "It's So Easy" originally shot in 1989 but never finished; and a 96-page hardcover book showcasing unseen photos from Axl Rose's personal archive and a wealth of memorabilia.

Among the rare and previously unreleased material are two songs GUNS N' ROSES recorded with producer Mike Clink, "Shadow Of Your Love" — laid down during a trial session that resulted in Clink getting the production job — and an acoustic version of "Move To The City", which was recorded during the "GN'R Lies" sessions. Additional highlights of the unreleased audio include the first two work-in-progress recording attempts of the 1991 epic masterpiece "November Rain" which was originally penned as the ballad for "Appetite", covers of songs like Elvis Presley's "Heartbreak Hotel", AEROSMITH's "Mama Kin", two distinctly different recordings of THE ROLLING STONES' "Jumpin' Jack Flash" (one electric, one acoustic) and two never-finished tracks/jams, "The Plague" and "New Work Tune".

On the vinyl front, the original "Appetite For Destruction" album has been broadened to 2LPs for the first time, including expanded gatefold jacket art and a limited-edition foil printed plastic slipcase. The music itself is being presented on three sides only for maximum audio fidelity, with the fourth side featuring a vinyl Hologroove Hologram of the band's iconic logo. Seven seven-inch singles are also included: the five original singles from the album, plus one for "Patience" and a new song, the aforementioned "Shadow Of Your Love". All of the bonus tracks appearing on 12-inch vinyl will only be available in the "Locked N' Loaded" box, including a reissue of the band's first EP, "Live ?!*@ Like A Suicide".

"Appetite For Destruction: Locked N' Loaded" track listing:

Disc One - Appetite For Destruction

01. Welcome To The Jungle
02. It's So Easy
03. Nightrain
04. Out Ta Get Me
05. Mr. Brownstone
06. Paradise City
07. My Michelle
08. Think About You
09. Sweet Child O' Mine
10. You're Crazy
11. Anything Goes
12. Rocket Queen

Disc Two - B-sides N' EPs

01. Reckless Life
02. Nice Boys
03. Move To The City (Live)
04. Mama Kin
05. Shadow Of Your Love (Live)
06. You're Crazy (Acoustic Version)
07. Patience
08. Used To Love Her
09. You're Crazy
10. It's So Easy (Live)
11. Knockin' On Heaven's Door (Live)
12. Whole Lotta Rosie (Live)

Disc Three - 1986 Sound City Session

01. Welcome To The Jungle (1986 Sound City Session)
02. Nightrain (1986 Sound City Session)
03. Out Ta Get Me (1986 Sound City Session)
04. Paradise City (1986 Sound City Session)
05. My Michelle (1986 Sound City Session)
06. Think About You (1986 Sound City Session)
07. You're Crazy (1986 Sound City Session)
08. Anything Goes (1986 Sound City Session)
09. Rocket Queen (1986 Sound City Session)
10. Shadow Of Your Love (1986 Sound City Session)
11. Heartbreak Hotel (1986 Sound City Session)
12. Jumpin' Jack Flash (1986 Sound City Session)

Disc Four - 1986 Sound City Session N' More

01. Shadow Of Your Love
02. Move To The City (1986 Sound City Session)
03. Ain't Goin' Down No More (Instrumental Version - 1986 Sound City Session)
04. The Plague (1986 Sound City Session)
05. Nice Boys (1986 Sound City Session)
06. Back Off Bitch (1986 Sound City Session)
07. Reckless Life (1986 Sound City Session)
08. Mama Kin (1986 Sound City Session)
09. New Work Tune (1986 Sound City Session)
10. November Rain (Piano Version - 1986 Sound City Session)
11. Move To The City (Acoustic Version - 1986 Sound City Session)
12. You're Crazy (Acoustic Version - 1986 Sound City Session)
13. November Rain (Acoustic Version - 1986 Sound City Session)
14. Jumpin' Jack Flash (Acoustic Version- 1986 Sound City Session)
15. Move To The City (1988 Acoustic Version)

Blu-Ray Audio

01. Welcome To The Jungle
02. It's So Easy
03. Nightrain
04. Out Ta Get Me
05. Mr. Brownstone
06. Paradise City
07. My Michelle
08. Think About You
09. Sweet Child O' Mine
10. You're Crazy
11. Anything Goes
12. Rocket Queen

Bonus Tracks

01. Shadow Of Your Love
02. Patience
03. Used To Love Her
04. You're Crazy
05. Move To The City (1988 Acoustic Version)

Music Videos

01. Welcome To The Jungle
02. Sweet Child O' Mine
03. Paradise City
04. Patience
05. It's So Easy (Brand New Video From 1989)

Find more on Guns n' roses
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).