GUNS N' ROSES Guitarist DJ ASHBA Debuts Original Music For 'The Power Of Few' Movie Contest

June 8, 2011

GUNS N' ROSES/SIXX: A.M. guitarist DJ Ashba debuted original tracks today on the web site of upcoming indie "The Power Of Few", a crime mystery starring Christopher Walken ("Catch Me If You Can", "Wedding Crashers"),Christian Slater ("True Romance", "Very Bad Things"),Q'orianka Kilcher (Terrence Malick's "The New World") and Anthony Anderson ("Transformers", "The Departed"). The tracks are available at the film's web siteas a part of "Scene 64," the digital editing contest created by the film's writer/director Leone Marucci and Kilcher in their efforts to involve fans in a collaborative filmmaking process for the upcoming indie.

DJ Ashba, who visited the New Orleans set last fall commented, "When I heard that Leone and Q'orianka were bringing people this unique interactive experience, I offered to help in any way. User-generated scenes in the final cut? Sign me up."

DJ Ashba is releasing these original tracks following "This Is Gonna Hurt", the hit album from SIXX: A.M., the hard rock band comprised of MTLEY CRE bassist Nikki Sixx, James Michael and Ashba.

Fans will have access to Ashba's tracks, pages from the script, film footage, as well as audio contributions from "The Power Of Few"'s Grammy-winning composer Mike Simpson ("Fight Club", co-writer/producer on the BEASTIE BOYS' "Paul's Boutique" album). Using editing software found on the site, participants will edit "Scene 64," an action sequence featuring Kilcher and co-star Jesse Bradford ("Bring It On", "Flags of Our Fathers") and submit their cut for a popular fan vote. The best edit will be used in the final film and the winner will receive a screen credit.

Writer/director Leone Marucci commented, "Now fans have the chance to cut to a couple ripping guitar tracks from an incredible talent. Collaborating with visionaries is what this project is all about."

"The Power Of Few" revolves around an enigmatic smuggling ring's efforts to steal a priceless artifact. The story unfolds through the unique perspective of five characters who cross paths on a day filled with danger, hope and possible transformation. The ensemble cast includes Walken, Kilcher, Anderson, Bradford, Moon Bloodgood ("Terminator Salvation"),Nicky Whelan ("Hall Pass"),Devon Gearhart ("Changeling"),Jordan Prentice ("In Bruges"),Navid Negahban (Fox's "24") and multi-platinum selling rap artist Juvenile.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email