HAMMERFALL: Official Lyric Video For New Single '(We Make) Sweden Rock'

June 10, 2019

The official lyric video for "(We Make) Sweden Rock", the new single from Swedish metallers HAMMERFALL, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band's upcoming album titled "Dominion", which will be released on August 16 via Napalm Records.

Vocalist Joacim Cans describes the creation of "(We Make) Sweden Rock": "This is a glorious tribute to the Swedish hard rock and metal movement with a lyrical theme using direct references to both other bands and songs. With catchy contagious riffs and enchanting (ear-worm) melodies, this song will be an instant classic at future HAMMERFALL shows. Without the Swedish rock and metal scene with bands like HEAVY LOAD, AT THE GATES and Yngwie Malmsteen, the world would be a pretty boring and dull place! This is our noble tribute to all the bands that inspired not only us to play metal, form bands and eventually crusading around the world in the name of heavy metal. All hail the sons of the northern light!"

Guitarist Oscar Dronjak told Janne Vuorela: "I remember Joacim sent me something saying the idea — basically laying out the idea, 'How about this? We call it '(We Make) Sweden Rock',' [and] the whole imagining behind the song. I was in the store, just doing grocery shopping, but I read that and I remember that I [responded], 'I'm just in the store, but this is a great idea. I'm going to go back home and finish it.' Then the next day, I went out into the studio and tried to write something. It was very inspirational. I was working on a song then, but his energy came through the mail and I got inspired by that, so it went pretty quickly. It was a cool idea. You had to do it the right way in the end, but I think we definitely [did]."

For "Dominion", HAMMERFALL re-teamed with James Michael to do vocals at Red Level Three studios, and Fredrik Nordström of Studio Fredman at Castle Black Studios for the instruments on the powerful 12-song collection.

Oscar stated: "'Good is not good enough; it has to be great.' This is the mantra we have applied to every aspect of making this album, from the songwriting and rehearsals to the production and the performance of each member. The result is 'Dominion', a powerful force of nature that cannot be stopped. Once you hear it, you will understand."

The band has also unveiled the album cover art and track listing for "Dominion". The artwork was created by renowned visual artist Samwise Didier.

"Dominion" track listing:

01. Never Forgive, Never Forget
02. Dominion
03. Testify
04. One Against The World
05. (We Make) Sweden Rock
06. Second To One
07. Scars Of A Generation
08. Dead By Dawn
09. Battleworn
10. Bloodline
11. Chain Of Command
12. And Yet I Smile

HAMMERFALL's summer touring includes stops at the legendary Sweden Rock Festival, Graspop Metal Meeting and Wacken Open Air. There will be three launch party shows in the U.S., followed by being featured as special guests on SABATON's autumn U.S. tour.

HAMMERFALL's last album, "Built To Last", was released in November 2016 via Napalm Records.

In 2017, drummer David Wallin returned to HAMMERFALL — nine months after he left the group in order to focus on his family life.

Find more on Hammerfall
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).