HAMMERFALL To Perform New Single On Swedish TV

January 16, 2009

Swedish melodic metallers HAMMERFALL will perform their new single, "Any Means Necessary", on January 17 during the "P3 Guld" live awards ceremony broadcast from the Scandinavium Arena in Gothenburg, Sweden. The event will be aired live on both Swedish national TV and radio. The "Any Means Necessary" video will be premiered exclusively on MySpace the next day, January 18.

A screenshot from the clip is available below.

HAMMERFALL filmed the "Any Means Necessary" video in Belgrade, Serbia with director Ivan Colic of i-Code, who previously worked with the band on the "Natural High" clip. "This time we worked solely in front of a green screen, standing on a dirt covered floor which really gave our eyes some major problems every time the fan was turned on," singer Joacim Cans explained. "It is extremely boring working in front of... nothing and trying to act like there's a lot of shit happening around you. Especially since I had to pretend watching the re-building of a city. The general idea is that the band is standing in some sort of a ghost town and with a 'The morning after the great disaster' feeling. Meanwhile, we are performing the song, trying to look cool, things starts to run backwards and the city slowly builds up to what it was before the explosion... and... BOOOM!!!... and we're back to square one again. Get it? Well, I didn't!"

"Any Means Necessary" is the first single off the band's eighth full-length album, "No Sacrifice, No Victory", due on February 20 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was recorded in part at Andy La Rocque's (KING DIAMOND) Sonic Train Studios in Varberg, Sweden and includes an instrumental written by the group's latest addition, guitarist Pontus Norgren (THE POODLES, TALISMAN, GREAT KING RAT),as well as a song entitled "One of a Kind", which was composed as a collaboration between HAMMERFALL guitarist Oscar Dronjak and IN FLAMES axeman Jesper Strömblad (who was a member of HAMMERFALL in the band's earliest incarnation). The cover artwork was created by Sam Didier, while Thomas Ewerhard was responsible for the CD layout.

"No Sacrifice, No Victory" track listing:

01. Any Means Necessary
02. Life Is Now
03. Punish And Enslave
04. Legion
05. Between Two Worlds
06. Hallowed Be My Name
07. Something For The Ages
08. No Sacrifice, No Victory
09. Bring The Hammer Down
10. One Of A Kind
11. My Sharona (THE KNACK cover)

Pontus Norgren joined HAMMERFALL as the replacement for Stefan Elmgren, who left the band in April 2008 to focus on his new career as a pilot.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email