HATEBREED To Release 5 Consecutive Digital Singles From Forthcoming Covers Album

March 31, 2009

Beginning today, Connecticut-based hardcore/metal leaders HATEBREED will roll out five consecutive digital singles on iTunes from their forthcoming new covers album, "For The Lions", leading up to the album's May 5 release. The first single, the band's bludgeoning take on "Thirsty & Miserable" (from BLACK FLAG) is now available for purchase.

Each digital track purchased will count toward iTunes' "complete my album" initiative. The more you buy, the less you pay for the full album on May 5.

The other forthcoming digital singles from "For The Lions" will be available on iTunes as follows:

April 7 - "Suicidal Maniac" (SUICIDAL TENDENCIES)
April 14 - "Shut Me Out" (SICK OF IT ALL)
April 21 - "Ghosts of War" (SLAYER)
April 28 - "Escape" (METALLICA)

Video footage of the band weighing in on the "For The Lions" "complete my album" plan can be viewed below.

HATEBREED recently completed a video for SLAYER's "South of Heaven" classic "Ghosts of War". Helmed by "Live Dominance" director Kevin Custer, the clip is the first to feature returning guitarist Wayne Lozinak.

For a taste of the new video, watch the clip below.

"For The Lions", to be released on E1 Music (formerly KOCH Records),is the follow-up to the band's #1 Billboard charting DVD, "Live Dominance" (released September of 2008).

The songs on "For The Lions" were carefully selected by HATEBREED to represent a panoramic view of some of their favorite artists and greatest musical inspirations. Having completed the album in 2008, the band felt their work wasn't done yet and just returned to the studio with original guitar player Wayne Lozinak to record additional tracks for the album. The four new covers are among the most bludgeoning the band has yet to record. They are "Ghosts Of War" (SLAYER),"Supertouch/Shitfit" (BAD BRAINS),"Thirsty" (BLACK FLAG) and "Suicidal Maniac" (SUICIDAL TENDENCIES).

"For The Lions" was produced, engineered and mixed by long-time band associate Chris "Zeuss" Harris.

"For The Lions" track listing:

01. SLAYER - Ghosts of War
02. CRO-MAGS - It's The Limit
03. SUICIDAL TENDENCIES - Suicidal Maniac
04. SEPULTURA - Refuse/Resist
05. METALLICA - Escape
06. BAD BRAINS - Supertouch/Shitfit
07. MISFITS - Hatebreeders
08. D.R.I. - Evil Minds
09. MADBALL - Set It Off
10. SICK OF IT ALL - Shut Me Out
11. BLACK FLAG - Thirsty
13. CROWBAR - All I Had I Gave
14. MERAUDER - Life Is Pain
15. AGNOSTIC FRONT - Your Mistake
16. JUDGE - Hear Me
17. OBITUARY - I'm In Pain
18. SUBZERO - Boxed In

HATEBREED will perform at the first annual Epiphone Revolver Golden Gods Awards alongside MEGADETH, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, ALL THAT REMAINS and SUICIDE SILENCE. The awards show will take place on Tuesday, April 7 at Club Nokia in downtown Los Angeles and will be broadcast on MTV2 as a one-hour special debuting Saturday, May 2. Jasta will also present the highly anticipated "Monster Energy Riff of the Year" award at the event, an honor to be given to the most crushing riff in metal!

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email