HEIDEVOLK: 'Uit Oude Grond' Release Date Announced

January 26, 2010

Dutch folk metal six-piece HEIDEVOLK will release its new album, "Uit Oude Grond" ("From Old Soil"),on March 26 via Napalm Records. A new track called "Nehalennia" is available for streaming on the band's MySpace page.

The official release party for "Uit Oude Grond" will be held April 2 at LuxorLive in HEIDEVOLK's hometown of Arnhem. Also appearing on the bill will be XIV DARK CENTURIES and GRIMM.

"Uit Oude Grond" was recorded at S&K Studio in Doetinchem, Holland with producer Dick Kemper. 11 songs were laid down during the sessions "ranging from epic and solemn folk tunes to brutal and merciless metal riffs," according to a press release. The CD was mixed and mastered by Dick Kemper while Awik Balaian created the album artwork.

According to the band, "Uit Oude Grond" features "eleven songs telling different stories of myth and legend from Gelderland and beyond. These stories from old soil are captured in raging metal songs as well as folky tunes."

"Uit Oude Grond" track listing:

01. Nehalennia
02. Ostara
03. Vlammenzee (Sea Of Flames)
04. Een Geldersch Lied (A Gueldrian Song)
05. Dondergod (God Of Thunder)
06. Reuzenmacht (Giants' Might)
07. Alvermans Wraak (Revenge Of The Alverman)
08. Karel Van Egmond, Hertog Van Gelre (Karel Of Egmond, Duke Of Guelders)
09. Levenslot (Fate Of Life)
10. Deemstering (Dusk)
11. Beest Bij Nacht (Beast By Night)

HEIDEVOLK's last album, "Walhalla Wacht", was released in 2008 via Napalm Records.

According to the band's official bio, HEIDEVOLK's music "can best be described as pounding and blistering metal combined with epic and melodic folk music. The band features two clean vocalists and incorporates folk instruments such as mouth harp, violin and blowing horns in its songs. All songs are in their native tongue."

For more information, visit www.Heidevolk.com.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email